An Email, Annotated

Hi girls! (I haven’t heard from you in almost a year. Is this some sort of pregnancy email?)

Hope you all enjoyed summer and sunshine, and now fall festivities! My favorite! (Enough with the small talk. get to the point. I’m just going to skip over a few lines until I see the “p” word.)

I saw E recently and was saying how I think of you all often. I could never have gotten through that time without your support. (Yeah, I know. That’s not what this email is about though. And if you think of us so often WHY is it the only time you reach out is when you’re announcing a pregnancy or a birth? Don’t hear from you otherwise.) 

I wanted to let you know that I’m due to have a baby boy in March. We’re very excited. But anxiety also goes a long way in this process. (Yep, there it is. Knew it. Three babies in three years, you’re 3 for 4 and I’m 1 for 4. I suck. Also I shouldn’t be keeping track like this. What is wrong with me? So ungrateful.)

Hope to hear from you and how you’re doing. (You’re my Facebook friend, so look me up if you want to know.)
Xo
K

Yes, I’m a bitch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to An Email, Annotated

  1. I find myself paraphrasing a lot of conversations these days and they often sound like your annotations here! This post was so relatable so thank you!

    Ax

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mamalife says:

    I don’t understand this post. Is this one of your “older posts” that you published today or is it true again?

    Like

  3. Lindsay says:

    I hate ‘friends’ who only pop around when they want to let everyone know their life is great. I hope you have others in your life who are there through thick and thin and find a way not let emails like this take over your day.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Luke's Mom says:

    At least she took the time to let you know individually. I HATE it when people don’t and you find out on stupid Facebook with everyone else. However, she clearly didn’t put a lot of thought or effort into sharing the news in a sensitive way, or maybe she just doesn’t have the brains to figure it out (sorrynotsorry). “anxiety goes a long way in this process”? That’s not even worded properly. Super annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Super annoying indeed! It was just something to check off her to do list – let her baby loss friends know she is expecting again. It didn’t seem very thoughtful – just all about her letting us know her such wonderful news and nothing more. I think that’s what bothers me most.

      Like

  5. lyra211 says:

    Yeah, I hear ya. Ugh, the pregnancy announcements. Especially people who are lapping me — they had their first kid after mine and now are having their second kid before I can get pregnant with mine. And I’m 1 for 3 and some of them are 2 for 2. It sucks. I know, I know, I shouldn’t keep score, it’s not a race, I should be happy for them (and in some cases I am!), blah, blah, blah… but it still stings. And it’s OK to be a bitch in your mind (and to tell us about it). 🙂 I’m right there with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That pregnancy spidey sense, man. a blessing and a curse. *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You know people well my dear, you know them well. Are you going to answer? Ughh, very annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ha! You are not a bitch, I would have the same exact annotation in my head. 🙄🙄🙄

    Liked by 1 person

  9. RJ says:

    Oh man I still cringe at pregnancy announcements. Your comments are exactly how I feel!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You are not a bitch!! I loved this because it is flat out truth and real. I am sorry 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

