Advice Please!

As the title of this post suggests, I am looking for advice from my readers and friends! I will be leaving later this month for my first post-McLovin work trip. With taking a red eye home I will be away from him a total of five nights. I am trying not to focus on the emotional aspects surrounding this trip and am instead trying to focus on logistics, as I am still breastfeeding/pumping.

Any tips, tricks, advice for a breastfeeding mother who is traveling cross country? I’ve looked in to Milk Stork and FedEx cold shipping and they are pricey – I may end up using one of those services, however, I am also considering trying to just bring the milk home in a cooler in my checked luggage and/or carry on. I’ll have five days worth. Does TSA really give people that much of a hassle? I really don’t know what to expect as I’ve never done this before nor have I traveled with anyone who has had milk with them.

McLovin will be ~11 months while I’m away. I’ve made it this.close to a year of breastfeeding and pumping, and I’m not going to give up now. Travel be damned!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Advice Please!

  1. I have no advice on your actual problem, but I do want to say from my experience your first trip away will be the hardest, but it does get easier. Sending my love and wishing you the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sbach1222 says:

    How long is the flight?

    I asked this same question to a friend, I have not done this myself yet. She said TSA is usually cool, but it’s really up to them. She put hers frozen with ice packs in a checked bag and they were fine. 4 hour flight, plus all of the lines and baggage claim etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. RJ says:

    Good luck! Sadly I don’t have any good advice but great job on making it this far!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t know the TSA rules but I would pump and dump to keep my supply up if I was sure they wouldn’t let me carry the milk through security. If you could live with dumping it at the airport then I’d do that. Can you call TSA or the airport from where you’ll be returning and ask if they have a policy? My experience carrying liquid over limit with child in tow has been good but without your baby I think it will be pretty discretionary unless there’s a policy one way or another. Good luck!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Also agree with prior poster. They let me take ice packs for my gazillion immune meds while pregnant many many many times even though that put me well over the limit for liquids, gels etc. Freezing may be way to go if you can do that at the hotel. Plus that way they’ll stay cold the whole long flight. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I would REALLY hate to dump 4.5 days wroth of milk at the airport, but I dont’ like the idea of “losing control” of it if I check it in my suitcase too. Ugh. I might take my chances going through security with it! I printed out the TSA guidelines from their website and I plan to have that in my purse so I can take it out. It says they allow “reasonable quantities” so I guess they get to define what is “reasonable” but it does not have to conform to the 3 ounce rule. We’ll see!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. G E says:

    I have done this! TSA is super lax on breast milk. I took numerous trips with mine. Here’s what I would do — pump and use those freezer storage bags for breast milk and freeze the milk as you go (ask your hotel for a freezer in your room). Then get a good insulated bag and bring it back with you as a carry on. I was never hassled – TSA just took a look at it and once or twice swabbed the outside of the package. If it has thawed a bit, you can just stick it in the fridge and use it sooner; if it is still frozen, just pop it back in the freezer at home.

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The hotel offers mini fridge but not freezer, but as long as I can keep it cool during my travel day it will still be in a good time frame for using/freezing it when I get home. So many things to think about with this! I also realized I need cleaning supplies for the pump parts! Eek!

      Like

Let me know what you think...

