Eight Months

This weekend my little McLovin is eight months old. Two thirds of a year. Eight months has flown by. It never went so fast when we were in the midst of the struggle and felt like we’d never get out. Now, when we want time to slow down, it speeds up. We are enjoying our summer, and I am enjoying taking random vacation days off from work to spend with him. We’ve been to zoos, walking in parks, swimming, taking in all the beautiful sights that summer offers.

IMG_0446

Colt State Park, Rhode Island

He is so much more interactive now, and smiling and army crawling. Sitting up on his own (he won’t pull himself up, but he’ll stay sitting when we put him down.) When he gives me real laughter and squeals it makes my heart skip a beat – he’s always smiling but he’s stingy with his REAL laughs. He’s so much fun, but every day I think – he won’t be this little again. As little as he is today. So I take lots of pictures and give him lots of hugs and, he’s still up once a night, but I don’t care because in the silence and darkness I hold him as we sit in the glider and think of how lucky I am to have him, how lucky I am to be his mom. He’s a happy baby and I wonder where he gets it from, because I was told I was NOT a happy baby – very fussy and needed to be rocked all the time, up every two hours at night, and even now I’m much more of a reserved person, a pessimist with a RBF. I’m glad he doesn’t have my mean mug. 🙂

I don’t know how much he weighs or his length, as he hasn’t been weighed/measured since his six month visit. I can see that he’s growing by the way his clothes and diapers fit. We are still breastfeeding and it’s still, in my opinion, one of the best aspects of our relationship. There are some days when it feels like he is just constantly attached to me, but those days are not typical.

We had our first beach vacation last month, to New Hampshire. Our annual trip to Martha’s Vineyard is later this summer. McLovin had his feet dipped in the ocean, and was not too pleased as the ocean temperature was 49 degrees. He promptly wailed and cried when the first wave rolled up over his feet. He did well considering we did not keep to his home schedule much, and he was in a strange place. He was up SUPER early every morning because the beach cottage does not have room darkening curtains or drapes, so it was very bright as soon as the sun rose. I popped him in a carrier and we did an early morning beach stroll, then I’d head to Dunkin Donuts and be back in time for breakfast with the family. It felt so normal to have him there, as if he had always been vacationing with us. I had a lot of help from grandparents, cousins and aunts so all in all our first trip away from home wasn’t too stressful. I may have possibly overpacked BUT wanted to be ready for anything!

IMG_0363

Rainbow after an evening thunderstorm

IMG_0251

Walked three miles every morning

IMG_0244

SAND CASTLES

IMG_0222

Sunrise over the Atlantic

We’ve been going to the pool at my mother’s house to practice or swimming skills and stay acclimated to the water, and we went to see fireworks in my hometown with my best friend M and some of her family and our mutual friends. McLovin slept through the entire fireworks show, which I was pleasantly surprised! Actually a bit shocked. We usually keep him close to a 7PM bedtime, but we made some exceptions for vacation/Independence Day celebrations. He didn’t seem to have any problems going back to his normal schedule after the off days.

I mentioned many moons ago that we were looking at new houses. As the pregnancy progressed last year we stopped looking as it was too stressful being pregnant and house hunting. Well, we are looking again and in fact put an offer in on a house earlier this week, which was rejected as someone offered full cash, which is better than having a percentage financed with a mortgage. Ugh. But we’ve since looked at two other houses, neither of which impressed me. We’ve discussed purchasing my mother’s house, but she hasn’t been able to find a smaller house that she likes yet (she’s sick of maintaining a larger house and yard and wants to downsize.) So, it’s all a bit up in the air but we are looking at our options.

We are enjoying the days and the passing of time.  He is my little love.

IMG_6795

Enjoying mimosas during brunch with K

SaveSave

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eight Months

  1. jwhitworth7 says:

    Can’t believe he’s eight months! I’m so happy vacation went well. And I love the rainbow picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lyra211 says:

    Hooray! Things sound wonderful with McLovin. I’m so glad you’re having a wonderful summer. Colt State Park is my old stomping grounds (I grew up in RI), and it makes me happy to think of you there with your little guy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes McLovin is wonderful! I think you mentioned before that you grew up locally – I live about 45 min. away from CSP, and I love visiting. I hope to go back a few more times before the summer is over 🙂

      Like

  3. Great pics!! The water at the beach was freeeezing! I couldn’t believe little kids were swimming and enjoying it. Both N and I were in pain when we went in. But we hardly ever go to the beach, our poor feet probably weren’t used to any water that wasn’t shower temperature :).
    Happy 8 months to your little one!!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

