McLovin: Six Months

My little man has made it halfway around the sun (and a little further at this point.) He is doing well and being with him is the best part of my days.

At his six month visit he weighed in at 16lbs., and is right on his growth chart curves at ~23rd percentile for weight and height, and 12th percentile OFC. His doctor said he has no concerns with his growth.

We’ve started introducing solids following the Baby Led Weaning method. He has taken a great interest in touching, playing with and sucking on different foods but hasn’t really ingested much! He’s had avocado, carrots, cucumber, green beans and strawberries. It’s fun to watch him explore, and he loves sitting in his high chair with us at dinner times. He hasn’t taken much interest in his sippy cup yet but loves playing with his plastic spoons. We are still breastfeeding, and it’s one of the best parts of our relationship and being his mother (in my opinion.) During the work day he is bottle fed on a schedule, but when we are together (weekends, days off) we nurse on demand. My original goal was two weeks, then that turned into a month, then that turned in to three months (my original stretch goal) and now we are at six months. I would love to make it a year, or longer, if the universe cooperates. I have a “stud and a dud” – nowย I get basically nothing out of my left side, meanwhile I can get 4 or 5 oz. out of my right side during a pumping session. He has always preferred my right side, and I would try to get him to take the left and he would either fuss and fuss or only nurse for two or three minutes. At this point I’ve just kind of given up. He’s getting all he needs from the right and I don’t feel like forcing the issue.

IMG_6100

IMG_6231

We still have some room for improvement with his sleep. He’s usually up at least once, sometimes twice a night still. The good thing is that he nurses then goes right back to sleep – he isn’t up crying for an hour, or wanting to play. His wakings last 10, 15 minutes tops. The pediatrician made a comment during his six month visit that he’d like to hear that he’s sleeping through the night by the time we come in for his nine month check up and that he thinks he’s still waking because he’s hungry, as he isn’t gettingย much (if anything) in solids right now. Believe me, nobody would like to report he’s sleeping through the night more than me! Especially given I am working full time. I am managing though, and I remind myself each day that this period in his life is small in the long run, in the long arc. And every time he wakes up, and after I realize that he isn’t going to put himself back to sleep, I tell him I love him and try to think about these moments as special times between the two of us. I read a quote that another blogger friend put on Instagram (below) and I think it helped me put things in perspective. One day he won’t want to nurse. One day he won’t need me to hold and care for him like this. I don’t want to rush him and wish away the times he needs or wants love and nursing like this, because I know one day I will miss it. It seems stupid to say that when I would love for a solid 8 hour sleep stretch right now, but it’s true. He’s also taken to occasionally rolling on to his stomach during sleep, which still scares me but I am trying to just relax and let him do his thing. I know it’s safer now that he can roll both ways, and I can see that his head is turned and airway open, but it still gets me a little agitated from time to time.

FullSizeRender

He loves playing and his favorite toys are his rattles and soft books. He’s become a tummy time rockstar, and lately no sooner do I put him down on his back and he’s rolled over and reaching for his toys. He can sit up for a (very) small length of time doing the tripod position.

So, that’s the short story of McLovin at six months. I love being his mommy.

IMG_6373

Happy Mothers Day to me… cookie dough ice cream ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to McLovin: Six Months

  1. Mamalife says:

    this might be too personal, but don’t you get lop sided? My LO loves the left side and I am invariably lopsided (The benefits of nursing :)) )
    I just get him to play around on the right side, but well, it is what it is.
    Yay! for 6 months, that’s wonderful.. And my kid is 16 months and still wakes up at night to nurse.. so those who say he is hungry and hence waking up, is not really true. Some kids just do! we all wake up during night, its normal, its just that we know to go back to sleep.. some kids learn it slower.
    if he was that hungry, he wont just wake up, he will wake up screaming his guts out..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha yes, I do get lopsided! In fact, there are some very funny pictures from a work volunteer event I recently attended in which the lopsided-ness is very apparent. Oh well. I’m not very self conscious about it – as you said, it is what it is!
      I’m glad to know the waking at night isn’t just us. I know deep down that it isn’t, but then you always hear the stories of everyone else’s kid sleeping through the night and it makes me wonder.

      Like

  2. jwhitworth7 says:

    Can’t believe he’s 6 months! Don’t get discouraged with the waking up. Luke wasn’t sleeping through the night until 9 months and even then he still woke but we stopped going in. I’m not sure of anyone I know who had a 6 month old that didn’t feed at least once at night. I love your attitude about the wakings and it’s so true that they grow up fast and you’re alone time with them is limited. Wishing you guys the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yes, most of the time I feel pretty positive about the sleep but every once in a while I get upset, or reach my limit, and then I have a bad day. Usually I get over it pretty quickly though! He will get there when he’s ready.

      Like

  3. lyra211 says:

    Awww, happy 6 months, McLovin’! I echo the above two — your pediatrician sounds like maybe he doesn’t have many kids of his own (or is maybe more into hard-core sleep training than most of us). ๐Ÿ™‚ My guy still woke up at least 2x/night at that age (possibly more? It’s all a little hazy now…). I think he went down to 1x/night with some gentle night weaning a couple months later, and it wasn’t until after his 1st birthday that I did some more gentle night weaning and he dropped the last feed. By “gentle night weaning” I mean that I dropped one feed at a time gradually over the course of about a week or two by feeding him 1 minute less on each side every night, and eventually he just stopped waking up for the feed (once we were down to 2-3 min/side). There was minimal or no crying involved (although we’ve done some crying it out in other circumstances — it’s not like I’m totally anti-cry-it-out!). It worked great for us, but I think whether or not it works depends a lot on your baby’s temperament — still, possibly worth a try when you think he might be ready. But definitely no need to rush it! Sounds like what he’s doing is totally normal for this age, and I’m also a big subscriber to the “if it’s working for you and your baby, then there’s no problem” philosophy. And wow I need that pump… except I don’t, because I’m done with pumping, hurrah! I’m so glad you’ve been enjoying breastfeeding — I was also like you in being surprised by how long I’ve wound up breastfeeding for. When it goes well, it’s just the best thing ever. I’m so happy for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s interesting to read the approaches that other people have taken with regard to sleep. Your gentle weaning approach sounds reasonable and like something I could manage. McLovin is great, really great, with going down for bed the first time – he hardly ever cries. We do our routine, and then go into our room (he’s in his Pack n Play now but still in our bedroom) and put him down. He rustles around a few minutes and goes to sleep. I’d say maybe once a week he cries. It’s just the STAYING asleep that’s the problem! Haha ๐Ÿ™‚ Either way, I don’t think either of us is ready to cry it out or wean night feedings yet.

      Like

  4. RJ says:

    I’m so glad breastfeeding is still going well. It’s my favorite part of my relationship with my baby as well. As for sleep, I’m at 8 months and 2-3 night wakings and not worried about it. After obsessing over sleep for months I’ve realized she will just do it when she’s ready. I am trying to help her along but I’m just doing what feels right. I hope he does sleep through for you soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad to see that other of my friends are still up at night! It definitely makes me feel less alone, sometimes it seems like everyone else says their kid slept through the night at 6 weeks, or 8 weeks, and I was feeling like something was wrong! I am going to try and stop obsessing too; I’m trying to look at it like a “milestone” that he’ll hit on his own time. Although I’m ready for it before he is lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Nara says:

    Happy half birthday McLovin! I’m with you on the breastfeeding. I’m amazed how much I enjoy it. Considering I was willing to use formula before he was born. Now I wouldn’t entertain it as it’s going so well. I am with you also on the night waking. I’ve always seen it as a privilege to be able to spend that time with him and comfort him. And it doesn’t really bother me too much as we co sleep with him in a side sleeper and inevitably ending up in bed towards morning. It means I can practically be asleep nursing him. A bit worried what will happen when he outgrows the co sleeper cot! Anyway really happy you guys are so happy! X

    Liked by 1 person

    • McLovin outgrew his original bassinet, now we have him in his Pack ‘n Play (still in our room.) The mattress on that is thin though, and he likes to kick at night and wakes me up! He hasn’t co slept in bed with us, but there are some nights when I’m very tempted to just keep him in the bed. To keep him happy and I wouldn’t mind the baby snuggles either!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. rachela28 says:

    The next 6 months are a lot of fun too, really! My girl has been very active since about 6 months. They will quite literally take off! Such a fun age!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy 6 mo!!
    I had the stud & dud too! ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„
    I ๐Ÿ’™ the quote

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sbach1222 says:

    It really is a super special time. Just last night I was thinking the same thing.

    BabyBach also loves avacado. But he has been eating less, and while he was sleeping through the night, solids have actually changed it!! Now he gets up because his little system just isn’t used to solids, even though he hardly eats any of them.

    So glad to hear you and McLovin are doing great!!

    We are having so much fun now at 6 months! And now that the weather is great, I think everything has worked out perfectly for us both ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Funny you mention that, I was thinking solids were upsetting McLovin’s tummy too! He hardly eats any but it seems like he’s had a bit more gas and a few more “explosions” lately lol. Yes, the weather has finally gotten warmer here but it’s been raining so much I haven’t been able to enjoy it! Waiting for a warm, sunny day so we can go for a nice long walk or to a park and enjoy some fresh air. I hope you and Baby Bach are doing well ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. All so true about that time you have…so happy to hear things are going well and you are enjoying motherhood.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Happy 6months to your little one!! Wow that really went quickly!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

