McLovin: 4 Months

I often struggle when trying to decide how much to share about McLovin on here. What is the line between my story and his story and sharing too much about him? Ten, fifteen, twenty years from now –  would he be upset if pictures and details about him were on the internet? Really, so much of his story is already out here because I consider the past three years and our struggles to be part of his story. Part of our story. Would he be here if my first, second or third pregnancies were successful? Well, definitely not my third because he was conceived before that due date.

It’s something that’s in the back of my mind. I’ve actually gone through and deleted some pictures of him from my Facebook page because I wonder if I am oversharing. What if every time I post a picture there is someone reading it, who is struggling, and they feel worse? What if I am one of those moms who only post about their children now? (Full disclosure: I am not one of those moms because I definitely post about politics and how much I loathe Trump. And memes. I do post memes. So I am an annoying person who posts about their baby or politics.)

McLovin is four months now and we recently had our four month well visit with his pediatrician. He is doing great and the pedi has no concerns! He told me that The Husband and I are doing a great job. So, that made me very pleased, to hear that validation from a professional because I am always worried that I am screwing something up.

For an update, he is 13 lbs. 15 oz., 25 inches long. He’s gained six inches since his birth! For some reason that just amazes me. He’s steady on his growth curves. He’s strong, with great head control. He’s alert and so bright. He loves playing on his Rainforest gym and is grabbing his toys and rings. He is very good at GOING to sleep, I put him down “awake but drowsy” and he puts himself to sleep with barely a whimper. However he wakes up at least twice during the night to nurse still. He is growing too big for his bassinet but I do love it and am going to be sad to see it go. But it has to go soon. He smiles and makes little laughs and is really finding his voice lately and likes to babble and makes sounds. We have conversations at 6:30AM while I’m getting ready for work. He rolls from tummy to back, when he feels like it. We love reading books before bedtime. I still think that nursing him is one of my favorite things to do, and even though I wish I could get a nice 6 or 7 hour stretch of sleep at night, I love looking down and seeing him. I love when we have quiet moments together and I can just hold him and hug him and tell him how special he is. I still love wearing him and today we went for a jaunt around Target and he was so alert and quiet the whole time as I explained what was going on around us.

I could probably go on and on but will end it here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to McLovin: 4 Months

  1. I love these updates on him but really hear you on the oversharing worry. I only posted photos of our boys for the first time ever a few months ago, just before MT turned 5; I have a real ambivalence about it so just restrict access

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dani says:

    Happy 4 months!!! So glad he is all on track and a happy bunny by the sounds of it!!!

    Like

  3. lyra211 says:

    Happy four months! Past the first trimester and into the fun stuff! You are going to have so much fun with him as it gets warmer out — he’ll be so into bubbles and grass this summer! Yay, McLovin’!

    Like

  4. G E says:

    Happy 4 months! These updates are so fun – thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

