Sunday

Today is Sunday, which means I return to work this week.

I return to work this week.

I have been oddly calm and zen about it until tonight. Tonight we were out to dinner at Longhorn (The Husband’s choice after my choice last night for our Valentine’s Day dinner) and as we were driving home I felt the tears. They fell slowly and silently and quickly. A momentary event that lasted as long as the red light we had stopped at during our travels.

He has been my near constant companion for the past 13+ weeks. My bestie. I’ve enjoyed seeing things through his eyes. His babbles and smiles. They make my heart happy. He’s amazing and the best (no, not biased at all! haha.) Of course I’ve had moments away – to go to the gym, for an occasional date night, for a dinner or brunch with a friend. And I certainly did enjoy those times, a breathe of fresh air after being cooped in the house on the short, cold, winter snowy days. I enjoyed not having to go out in the cold or snow, not being forced to do so, but also enjoyed the few hours of being an individual when I did get a solo outing.

I remind myself – I will be out of the house Wednesday. And, as I mentioned in this post, my request to work from home on Thursdays was approved. So I will work from home the day after I return and be with him then. I will be out of the house Friday. So really it’s only two days away this week, with a day home to break it up in between and then the weekend. I can do that. The company also made a corporate wide announcement last week which may lead to some big changes for me and my team later in the year. It will certainly keep things interesting and has provided for much speculation in the (almost) week since it was announced.

I purchased two rings today, one for The Husband and one for McLovin. I wish I would have them here to wear for Wednesday, but that’s my fault for not ordering sooner I guess. I also signed up for my first post-baby 5K. And, Big Little Lies begins on HBO. I enjoyed the book and am looking forward to the show – especially since my favorite viking vampire is in it! Alexander Skarsgard is my favorite Swedish import.

keep-calm-and-return-to-work-3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunday

  1. Nara says:

    Wishing you luck. I’m dreading it. I return 18 weeks after B was born and I’m already seeing the time slipping away. I wish we had longer. Hope it goes well. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. The first week was rough (and it was only three days!). This past week was a bit better but still difficult. Every morning in my drive in I mentally calculate our bills and wonder if we can swing it with one salary… sadly we cannot! Enjoy your time home with your little man, you are right it does slip away quickly no matter how much you try and enjoy it and be in the moment!

      Like

  2. lyra211 says:

    Good luck! I hope you managed to work out your childcare situation, and that everything goes seamlessly this week! It is hard to leave those little people, but at least for me it also felt really good to use my brain again — I feel more like a whole person these days, and my son is no less attached. You will find your rhythm, and McLovin will be loved by other wonderful people in addition to his mama. The more love for my baby boy the better, I say!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yes, our childcare situation is resolved. He is AT HOME and our caregivers come to our house, so that is really helpful for me in the mornings and I think for him, as he gets to stay where he is comfortable. The worst part for me has been the drive to work – during the drive in I am sad, but once I am at work I do better and feel engaged. So I’m glad I don’t spend all day crying in my office lol. xxx.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sending my love!! These transitions are so hard!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thinking of you mama ❤ XO

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sending so much love for the transition. U will do great!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jwhitworth7 says:

    Good luck! It’s great that the first week back is set up like it is. Hope it all goes smoothly!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Good luck going back to work. I agree it’s so hard!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dani says:

    I’m wishing you all the best!! It really must be a tough transition X

    Liked by 1 person

  9. RJ says:

    I hope your return to work went smoothly. It’s hard to leave your baby, I get that!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

