The Waiting

It’s been about a year since my last update about the genetic testing results we were waiting on after our third loss. For those of you new here or who have forgotten, we agreed to participate in genetic testing/research through the Manton Center for Orphan Disease Research at Boston Children’s Hospital. You can read my previous posts on this here, here, here and here.

Calling this an update is misleading – the update is that there is no update! The last communication we had was in October. Yes, we are still waiting.

10/3/16 I apologize that this has been such a drawn out process. There was quite a delay this summer at the research lab where the samples have been sent, because they had to obtain proper permissions to process fetal samples. Thankfully this is all worked out and the tissue samples are currently undergoing extraction. I actually checked in last week to see if it was successful and the process was not yet completed. I hope to have an answer from them soon. Assuming they can get enough DNA, all 5 samples will receive whole exome sequencing there.

10/13/16 I just wanted to let you know that I got an update that the lab was successfully able to get DNA from both samples! All samples will now undergo whole exome sequencing, which typically takes a few months, so please feel free to check back in later this winter and I will also reach out if I hear about any results.

I sent our contact at Children’s an email this evening letting her know that our son was born happy and healthy, and asking if there was anything new to report. I suspect there isn’t otherwise I would have heard from them.

Needless to say, we are glad we did not wait for these results before moving trying again for a successful pregnancy – otherwise my little McLovin would not be here today, sleeping safe and sound in his bassinet as I type.

The Husband will ask once in a while – “Can you imagine if we had waited for those results?”

No, I cannot.

4307959

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Waiting

  1. I am so glad you did not wait either!! I remember when you were waiting last year too and you sort of said rhetorically “what the hell should I do now” and i said I would go for it. I don’t know why but when I wrote that I just had this feeling everything would be ok this time. Not that it influenced your decision but it’s just a feeling I had. Believe me I am not religious in any way (agnostic) but so glad you did not wait as you were blessed with your beautiful baby boy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I remember your comment. I am an agnostic as well, and I too had a feeling right around the time we decided to try. Part of me thought it was just the alcohol giving me warm and fuzzies, but maybe it was something else 🙂

      Like

  2. It never ceases to amaze and disgust me how ass backwards medicine can be. So glad you rolled the dice and finally got lucky with little miracle McLovin.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dani says:

    Wow that’s insane that the delay was initially because they hadn’t completed the ethical approval! So glad you didn’t wait!!! But it will be interesting to get the results!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am shocked at the delay! And I am beyond thrilled and happy that you didn’t wait for the results and that McLovin is here and thriving! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jwhitworth7 says:

    It is clear you had a gut instinct to keep trying and I’m so happy you did. And what wonderful living proof Mclovin is that you made the right decision!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I can’t explain why we tried again other than it was purely gut. The logical side of me still can’t believe we did it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • jwhitworth7 says:

        I totally understand. I had two miscarriages and a chemical pregnancy on top of losing Oliver at 25 weeks. After the last miscarriage i met with a RE to consider IVF only because we could screen the embryos. I didn’t think I could go through another loss. We decided to try one more time and bam! Luke’s pregnancy happened and he’s here and now a toddler. Looks like our mommy instincts were already in play. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Unbelievable! Still nothing. So glad u didnt wait 😍 but hoping they get these results back to u one day soon. Its so hard not knowing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is hard not knowing. I know it won’t change anything, but at least if there is some sort of explanation it might provide a little drop of peace on those sad chapters. And it would be nice to know if there is some sort of genetic mutation that we’ve carried and perhaps passed on to McLovin!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. RJ says:

    I’m so thankful that you didn’t wait either. It is actually quite shocking that it’s taking this long (not like I have any point of reference) but it seems ridiculous. I wonder if it’s a funding thing, where they needed to get more money before continuing the research. Either way, thank goodness for McLovin!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. jivf says:

    Oh gosh – I can’t imagine the infinite amount of patience needed to wait for these results. Ridiculous! Free is one thing, but still… not cool. I’m glad it worked out so well with baby McLovin!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

