What’s In a Name?

One of the biggest struggles we’ve had in planning for our baby boy, other than the whole “creating a healthy baby in the first place” issue, is in deciding on a name. For some reason, I always had plenty of girls names lined up but only a few for a boy.

We found out the gender early due to having the MaterniT21 test done – and right away, I started thinking about names. I had a few in mind from the start, but The Husband was never completely sold on any of them. Now I am essentially 35 weeks (tomorrow), and it is really bothering me that we do not have a name, or at least have it narrowed down to two or three. Our list right now includes TEN names, some that I like, some that The Husband likes. We each narrowed that down to a personal top three, and there is only one of those ten names that made it on toΒ our individualΒ top three lists. So it would seem like that name would be the choice, right? Well, it happens to be the name of one of my biggest middle/high school crushes, who also happened to be my mother’s friend’s son, so it does have that connotation. Could I get past that? Yes. But I wouldn’t want anyone to bring up “Hey, remember when you were in LOVEEEEE with so and so in high school and went to all his baseball games and tried like mad to get him to notice you even though he thought of you as a sister and nothing more?!?!” πŸ™‚ It’s also the name of my aunt’s dog that passed away two years ago, but I really don’t care about that because they live many states away and we only see her once or twice a year (she did come up north for my shower though!)

As for a middle name, we have it narrowed down (right now) to two – one is a family name from my side, another is a family name from his side. My argument is that the baby will already have his last name, and that is his family name that he gets to pass down, and I should get more discretion over the middle name. And, ever since we decided to try having a child, I told him right from the start that if it was a boy I wanted this middle name. So it isn’t a big surprise to him.

I am trying not to share any of the names with friends and family because namely I don’t feel like it is their business, and second I don’t want them to influence our decision. Even if they didn’t outrightly state an opinion one way or another, we can all read facial expressions. And I find that most people don’t have a good poker face when it comes to these matters.

But, I really do want to talk about it with SOMEONE, and since this blog has been my outlet for my pregnancy loss issues that I keep (mostly) to myself “in real life”, I guess I can talk about other things that I keep to myself (in real life) on here too. And it’s really stressing me out – this baby is going to be the most important person in my life, actually he probably is already, (save for The Husband) and I feel like he should have a name and I should be able to call him something other than “Baby.”And I’m feeling anxious that we’ll be in the hospital with no name and I’ll be hormonal and indecisive. All that being said,Β here is our list of names, and I won’t designate which are from The Husband and which are from me, and I’ll put them alphabetical. For the few of you that may be reading this that I know “in real life”, please keep these on the down low!

  • Aidan
  • Benjamin
  • Connor
  • Elijah
  • Ethan
  • Evan
  • Jude
  • Liam
  • Thomas
  • Tyler

“A rose by any other name would smell as sweet”

funny-baby-name-people-hate

*Strongly dislike since I don’t like the word hate!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to What’s In a Name?

  1. Those are all awesome, classic names! I am obsessed with the name Jude!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mamalife says:

    All classic names. I am fond of Liam!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nara says:

    Haha! We had a similar issue for our baby boy and we found we both kept vetoing each other’s choices! We have settled on the only one we could agree on! πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Evan was on our list of top names too. 😊 I agree, about you getting the middle name since Baby will get your husbands last night. I also agree that choosing a name is such a huge decision and I’m confident you’ll pick the very best one for your little guy! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ethan I love! And one of my brothers is called Liam!πŸ™‚ all lovely names!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mindy Lauren says:

    Ethan was our boy name! It was the only name the husband and I could agree on. I love all the others you have picked out. Such a a touch choice… however you could wait until you meet him. A name might pop out at you at that moment..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. oats21 says:

    I like Benjamin or Ethan. Choosing a name is hard and I agree with letting people know the name only once the baby arrives – that way you don’t have to listen to people tell you they hate that name and what about this name.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sbach1222 says:

    This exactly! Between agreeing on names, whose family name gets picked and realizing the connections you make with other people and their names. I always thought naming a child would be fun… but it really is so difficult, -and sensitive. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Personally, I think I like Benjamin the best–but I like them all! It’s true though, that the people I know with these names influence how I feel about them! XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Both Benjamin & Elijah were on our list! We didnt end up even picking one off our list in the end though lol. Thankfully no one has given us crap about what they think of his name even though we picked it so early on (about 20 wks). Its hard-this name picking-so many names I loved but couldnt do as a teacher after a student tainted it….Anyways, u cant go wrong with any of the ones u have narrowed it down too! Cant wait to hear what u decide πŸ’™

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can only imagine how much more difficult it is when you see so many students each year! And the connotations you must have with certain names. I don’t envy that, but I do love the name you chose and with the symbolism and meaning it is just perfect. I have a feeling we won’t be deciding until he is here lol πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Benjamin and Elijah were (are) both on the list too!!! I love them!! (I think Angela shared her list a while ago so it’s funny we all had them too!) We really struggled with agreeing boys names so I was pleased it was a girl and our list has been narrowed to three we both like!! I don’t envy you. It’s hard!!!! But the other day Chris asked me if we should prepare a boys name short list- just in case. I said -nope! I dont want to go there!! Boys names are too hard!!!!
    They are all lovely classic names. You are right about not telling friends and family, they just can’t help pull a face, but once the baby is born no one will have the audacity to do that!!
    As for middle names, there is no reason you can’t have two middle names, there is a good chance we will have two! Unless the two names are completely incompatible. Oooooh and don’t forget to google the name combinations with your surname and check the initials don’t spell out something rude or weird!! Perhaps that might help wheedle the list down 😊
    Chris LOVED a boy’s name whose name was also the same as my high school crush. I just can’t do it!! He was pissed
    at me for vetoing it πŸ˜‚
    Hoping your decision becomes less foggy soon!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think Benjamin is definitely on the top names list for 2016. Everyone who talks about baby names seems to love it! Boys names are too hard, and I don’t know why they are so much harder than girls names! You’d think they would be equally as hard. I hope it gets less foggy too – it seems like every day at least one of the names on my top 3 list changes.! πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. We couldn’t agree on names for MT while I was pregnant either. We bought several books, went through various online sources and steadfastly hated each other’ stop choices. Then we finally agreed on one girl name and baby went and showed up to the party as a boy. Thankfully we sorted it out but I really wasn’t sure when he left the hospital with his given name. Now I believe it really suits him. FWIW I insisted I got the middle name too. Hands down. Hope you land on something that just feels right when baby boy arrives. You’ve got a lovely list to work with.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for “getting it” regarding the middle name! I plan on insisting too – I am very stubborn so it will take a lot for me to give in on it. And yes, it is a nice list – maybe that’s why it is too hard to narrow down, there are no more duds to cross out πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  13. lyra211 says:

    Love these names! One of my dear friends from high school has a two-month-old Eli, and it’s such a cute nickname. I always love the Celtic names too (Liam and Aidan), and one of my cousins has a Liam who is a sweet little boy. You can’t go wrong with this list, I think. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Eli! I love Elijah but, as a Patriots fan, I would not want his nickname to be Eli because that would remind me of Eli Manning! If I could just have everyone call him Elijah I would love it, but I don’t know if it’s realistic to expect people not to go by a nickname. The Husband in particular is adamant about this… But I still do love Elijah. πŸ™‚

      Like

  14. KT says:

    I love Jude and it is on the short list for if we ever have another boy. I love that he is the patron saint of hopeless causes which I often felt like we were over our IF/RPL journey. They are all great though so he will have an amazing name no matter what you choose!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. RJ says:

    Boys names are so hard! I like all of your name choices. Benjamin is on my boys name list! But whichever name you choose will be great since they are all good choices!

    I think your middle name should prevail as the baby gets hubby’s last name. We used my grandmas name as the middle name for that reason.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Jen says:

    We had a hard time with a boys name as well. The third trimester we wrote all the names on a piece of paper and hung them on our wall. Every day we agreed to eliminate 1. It worked great until the final 3. Which is Ethan made the top 3 for us! And I definitely agree you should get the middle name rights. Insist on it after labor lol they feel bad for you after labor lol

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Sarah says:

    I love Jude so much! Benjamin and Thomas are beautiful names too. I hope you come to s decision soon. It drove me crazy until I had my children’s name finalized. Also, my DH let me use middle names from my side of the family. I used the same argument about them inheriting his last name haha!!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. My nephew and best friend are named Aidan and they’re both amazing people so it’s a great name IMO. But on this list I’m going to go with Jude. Love it!
    Maybe wait until he’s born so you can see which name suits him. πŸ™‚
    Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Love your names! We are struggling too !!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Pingback: Late Night Thoughts II | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

