24 Weeks and Crankypants

Today I am 24 weeks pregnant, and I’ve been cranky alllll day. The Husband and I got in a spat last night, mainly because I was not impressed with the speed at which he’s painting the nursery. I would help him, but he doesn’t want me to paint because of the smell. His father left on a business trip today, so he is doing extra work this week (they work together for a family business), which he thought meant he could slack off on the nursery… Which I was not happy with because the crib is here (this is the set we ordered), the dresser will be here soon, and I have a carpet guy coming over later this week to stretch the carpet (there are some ripples in it.) Obviously all the furniture that is in there now has to be out for the carpet guy to do his thing, so there isn’t much time to waste! He didn’t like the reminder!

So I woke up today and I was still in a bad mood. People at work annoyed me. My mom annoyed me (sometimes she just cannot keep anything to herself and tells people things that I’m not sure how they even come up in normal conversation, and then wonders why I don’t want to tell her everything.) I really just want to lay in bed and be left alone, so I’m alternating between watching The Olympics and playing on the computer while curled up in my Snoogle.

My last post was anxiety ridden, and this one is now me being a complaining crankypants. But it is not all bad. We’ve actually been doing quite a bit and made a lot of good progress in our preparations (getting the room ready, painting, signing up for birth/breastfeeding/infant basics classes at our hospital.) But today I am just not feeling it.Β To help make myself feel better I ordered some maternity pajamas and robe from Pink Blush (here and here), and a nursing nightgown off Amazon (here.) When in doubt, get out the credit card for some online shopping, right? Ha! I also booked our maternity photo session for October. I wasn’t sure if I should do maternity photos, and at times in the past the thought of doing them made me cringe. But, I don’t know if I will be at this point again. It’s been over three years since we first started trying to have a baby, and after three failed pregnancies I don’t know if I will have it in me to try again and live through the fears and anxieties of the first trimester and anatomy scan. It feels like the second trimester is going by so quickly (probably because I am not feeling sick/exhausted and spending all my spare time laying on the couch like I did the first 12 weeks), and I do want to remember this. I am taking bump photos each week, but those only include me! So we are doing a photo shoot and our little Layla will be included! The photographer said she is very comfortable working with dogs too and has done several shoots with dogs (I was able to see some of the photos in her portfolio.) So that made me happy. She won’t be in all the photos, but I do want to get a few with her.

Speaking of, here is her beautiful self while we were on vacation two weeks ago. Looking perturbed as we both attempted to stretch out on the couch of our room – she thinks the couch is just for her comfort and not anyone else’s!Β Not sure what we would do if we could not find pet friendly accommodations for our travels!

FullSizeRender

“Mommy, get off my couch and give me some space!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 24 Weeks and Crankypants

  1. Marixsa says:

    It’s so crazy the things our non-pregnant selves say that we’d *never* do (like maternity photo shoots or gender reveals etc) just to completely feel the opposite later on. So many bloggers write similiar experiences with caving to things they’d once sworn off. It makes me wonder what pregnancy “never” I’ll one day be itching to do someday! Sorry you had a tough day. You deserve to stretch on the couch with Layla while hubby paints. Tell him we all said so.:)

    Liked by 2 people

    • I know right? I think maternity photos is the “biggie” of the things I said I wouldn’t do. But I really just want to do it now, for my own sake more than anything – I want to remember this time. I hope you get to find out SOON which pregnancy “never” you’ll be doing! And I’ll be cheering you on πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hehe, Layla’s expression is brilliant 😊 I know what you mean about a maternity shoot, but I think you won’t regret it! Sorry for miss cranky pants rearing her head 😟 but I’ve been there too 😁 there is a lot on our plates to do which are new, it’s bound to happen once in a while!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always tell Layla her best feature is her face and her fun expressions! They always make me laugh! And, I agree that I won’t regret it – more than anything they are just for us, not for the world, so I don’t know if/how I will share them.. I probably won’t. But who knows? Thanks for seeing past my crankiness πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Im still torn on whether or not I want maternity photos. I have had similar thoughts as you on it. Im sure they will be beautiful!
    Love the pic of your dog! And I can relate to the crankiness and bickering with my husband, Ive been a real nut lately 😜 dont worry, u will snap out of it…who knows u might have already the way these preggo hormones are! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am sure they will be beautiful too! It will be fall, so hopefully we’ll have some good foliage to work with. I am really happy with my decision to do the photos, even just to have them for myself so I can look back on this time – I never thought I’d be here and I may not be again so I’d like to have something!!
      I have already snapped out of it – my Pink Blush PJ’s arrived today and I LOVE THEM! I was so happy trying them on lol. And the room is painted and the carpet is fixed so now that all of that is off my plate I feel much happier lol. But year, the hormones can be a doozy!!! Sorry you’ve been feeling it too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. RJ says:

    Aww your doggie is adorable! Don’t worry about the crankiness, it happens. I think it’s great you’ve decided to do maternity photos, I’m sure you’ll be glad you did. And if you don’t like them…easy to dispose of lol 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sarah says:

    Beautiful furniture- can’t wait to see the nursery! I was the same way while pregnant. I wanted to have everything finished but my DH was in no hurry. It caused some stress between us but well worth the arguments since the nagging usually worked!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it is beautiful! I didn’t fall in love with it right away, but after a few laps around the store I found that I kept gravitating towards that crib and then I knew it was the one for me. I’m happy to say the painting is done and the carpet is fixed and I feel much better about the room! I hate “nagging” my husband, but I always tell him – if he just listened the first time I wouldn’t have to keep repeating myself! LOL

      Like

  6. jivf says:

    That’s a beautiful furniture set, I love it. Maybe I’ll get to copy it one day πŸ˜‰

    Glad you’re doing the maternity photoshoot! You’re totally entitled to change your mind and you shouldn’t not do something just because you used to think differently about it. Those pictures will have the most gorgeous fall background and be an amazing keepsake.

    Retail therapy to the rescue! Hope you’re feeling good.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hahahaha I like the crankypants stuff! So funny!
    Love all your purchases. Enjoy your vacation and almost welcome to the 3rd trimester!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. How great that you are feeling good about doing some pregnancy things you never thought you’d do. If you are feeling it and want those photos, go for it! I’m sure they will be beautiful (like Layla). Congrats on the 3rd trimester!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Ramblin’ Man | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

