Early Anatomy Scan

IMG_1977

Thank you to everyone who commented and had such nice words of  encouragement on my last post! It really was so nice to read during what has been a nerve-wracking time.

We had our early anatomy scan this past Monday with MFM. I am happy to say that baby has two kidneys and plenty of amniotic fluid! Dr. T said she was very, very pleased and encouraged with everything she saw – the heart, the brain/skull, kidneys, fluid, cord- all  looked well.  We could see everything from his little fingers and toes to the four chambers of his heart. He was also not shy at all and we got very clear views of his boy parts, so it was a good thing we already knew and didn’t want to be surprised. There were no signs of spina bifida, but she said it was too soon to definitively rule that out since I was only 16 weeks and there were still some parts that just weren’t big enough to fully see and measure, although he is still measuring a week ahead. She also recommended I have the AFP screening done at my next visit with Dr. F.

My two biggest concerns, obviously after hearing about the kidneys and fluid, was the position of the placenta and how my cervix was holding. Dr. T agreed that those were valid concerns and had obviously already thought of that (that’s why she’s the expert!) She showed me on the scans that my cervix was long and measured at 3.98 and I have a posterior placenta that is nowhere near the cervix right now and does not appear to be attached too deep, etc. Because it is posterior I should be able to feel movement soon. We have a follow up scan in one and a half weeks and she will be checking the cervix again to make sure it is still long.

All in all it was a good news day. I hope it keeps coming!

I still vacillate on when and how to tell people. On one hand I just don’t want to have the conversation, even though at some point it can’t be avoided. On the other I want to be in control of the information. But I am definitely showing a little bump now, so if it isn’t obvious to some at this point it will be soon, so maybe I’ll just wait it out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Early Anatomy Scan

  1. jwhitworth7 says:

    The anatomy scab is a huge hurdle to get over and I’m so happy your scan went well! That cervix is perfect and I hope it stays that way for a long time! And yay for the placenta placement and movement coming soon! I’m so happy for you!! Congratulations. And while I know it’s still so very scary I know you’ll find joy in carrying your son.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Katy says:

    This is AMAZING. I’m jumping for joy for you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What? I have been awol and missed your last post (will go there in a second)… So happy there are tears in my eyes reading this. Sending up prayers, friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am thrilled for you!!!! Beyond thrilled actually. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So so so so happy for you my dear! They can see a lot at these screens even 16 weeks. I can’t wait to celebrate together in a few short months!
    I know it’s hard but as much as you can take this good news, relish it and try to enjoy your pregnancy (I need to take my own advice).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mindy Lauren says:

    That’s wonderful!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. oats21 says:

    That’s great news! I’m so happy for you and I agree that telling people is strange after a loss, we terminated for T18 and I’m currently 16 weeks and have only told family no one else – I figure it’s already getting pretty obvious and people will likely figure it out themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. That’s so amazing!!! I’m super excited for you!! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lyra211 says:

    Wonderful news!!! A normal anatomy scan is such a big deal — hopefully this will give you some peace and reassurance that history doesn’t seem to be repeating itself. I cried during ours. Was he bopping around in there? 🙂 Here’s hoping that things continue to be uneventful in the coming weeks!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Wonderful news! So happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. RJ says:

    Great news about your early anatomy scan! I’m so pleased to hear this. Telling others is so hard and whatever you choose to do is perfectly ok. Sending you strength and support!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Michelle says:

    Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Yay! So glad to hear that!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I did a little catching up on all the blogs and was psyched to read you’re pregnant and everything is going well. You deserve this healthy pregnancy and this healthy baby by coming November. Thinking of you and sending lots of positive vibes your way. I can relate to every fear you have. Trust yourself and trust your body. Don’t be afraid to speak up if you have concerns. Please keep us updated.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

