Please Stand By…

Hiatus

 

Hello Blog… No, I haven’t forgotten about you. In fact, I have about 15 posts in my Drafts folder, but I haven’t had the desire to hit “Publish.” I have been reading along with all the blogs I follow though, so I am keeping myself up to date even though I don’t always comment (but I do try to “Like” to show my support.)

No, I don’t have any genetic test results back yet. It’s been about two months since Children’s received all the samples, so I’m not expecting them back for another month or two anyway. Still….waiting…. and waiting…

I haven’t had it in me to post here regularly. Some of it is trying to take a step back from social media, including this blog – I’ve been Facebook free for over two months now! I do miss seeing updates from some people, particularly those friends that don’t live near me in Massachusetts, but I figure that there’s email and phone calls and if you aren’t someone that I’d email or text or call, then I don’t need to know your business and you don’t need to know mine. It’s quite liberating, except my Nana misses posting things to my page. So instead she’s taken to leaving messages for me on The Husband’s Facebook wall, instead of calling me directly. I wonder if she remembers how she contacted me before Facebook?!?! πŸ™‚

Other than that… one day at a time. The weather is finally more like “Spring” and less like “Winter’s Last Gasp”, work is fine, The Husband is fine, our pets are fine. We are looking for a new house, which is a stressful situation, and we haven’t really found anything we love yet. Our house isn’t on the market yet anyway. So maybe someday soon we will make that happen. I would love to get out of our current city and back to the town where we both grew up, but looking for a house is a lot harder now that I’m older and not a first time homeowner – I have a lot more demands (or, “wishes”), and less of a desire to do work to improve a house. I want a house that’s move-in ready!

Until next time… Please Stand By. One of these days I’m sure I’ll finally have the urge to hit “Publish” on those 15 posts. If I don’t, at least I’ll have them for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Please Stand By…

  1. I really was just thinking about you! I’m glad you’re okay. House “looking” is fun but serious house hunting, not so much. I hope you find something awesome! Really good to hear from you! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! We are having fun I suppose, but I’m also getting a bit anxious because I haven’t found anything in our price range that I 100% feel like I love. I almost think we should just buy land and start from scratch, but that scares me too. First world problems, amiright? We’ll figure it out πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I too was just thinking about you!! I am happy to hear all is well, but despise the fact that you are still waiting for results. Enjoy your house looking – when we went just looking last time we accidently bought our forever home. So you never know what you might stumble upon! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • We always knew the home we were in right now was our “starter home”, and I’m definitely hoping our next home is our forever home… at least until we are old and don’t want to take care of it anymore and move into one of those retirement communities or something πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think about you all the time. You don’t need to like or comment on anything, you do you. The world will understand and if not fuck ’em.
    I hope you get some info soon and that this helps you in the next steps for planning, whatever you decide. I am here for you if you need anything.
    I understand not writing or commenting as I have the same feelings too, not much of a desire to write or post. Write when you want and post when you want. This is about you not anyone else.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your support! I hope you are doing well and feeling good. I am thinking of you and all of the other ladies/gents on these journeys often as well, and hoping one day we all reach a place of happiness and peace… xxx.

      Like

  4. mamajo23 says:

    I am so happy to hear from you. Just know we are all still thinking about you and sending you love. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. RJ says:

    Hello! Glad to hear from you; you’ve been on my mind. I hope you have you’re results sooner rather than later. And good for you taking the social media hiatus! It’s liberating!

    Wishing you all the best in your house hunt and all else in your life. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Caroline says:

    Good to hear from you! Glad you are doing well!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s good to know you’re still here. I was just thinking of you intently – so glad I checked and saw this post. I have been in retreat mode myself and though I can’t say I’m enjoying it per se I can say it was necessary and I think it is likely to continue. We are going through an unexpected and increasingly expensive plumbing repair and resulting unplanned impending main bath reno as a result of the sh**ty work done by the previous owners of our “move-in ready” home so it’s taking all I have not to try persuading you that contracting to do your own repairs or renos is far better long term than trusting someone else did so properly but I will restrain myself. You’re an adult and hopefully your luck is better than ours in the home owning front at least.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I am still here… spending a little time being a lurker recently, but here nonetheless. πŸ™‚ I totally hear your story about bad work by previous owners.. it’s actually one of my home buying fears, and every time I see a house for sale that is cheaper than what I would expect I think to myself “I wonder what is wrong with it….” so that’s definitely in the back of my mind! I’m sorry you are dealing with a reno right now… definitely not fun when those problems pop up unexpectedly. Hoping you get through it without too much pain… xxx.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Nara says:

    I’m glad you are well. I took a four month break from Facebook and recently returned… I’m beginning to wish I’d stayed off! It definitely helps re-ground you I think. Although I do like the day-to-day interaction with the nice people I don’t get to see often enough.

    I hope that you will return someday when it is good for you! Thinking of you. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jwhitworth7 says:

    It’s very nice to hear from you. House hunting can be a chore…we just moved and it made me never want to do it again. And I think time away from social media is awesome. I deactivated Facebook almost two years ago and don’t miss it at all! Here’s to hoping you have some results back sooner rather than later. Until then I’ll be thinking of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. gsmwc02 says:

    Just keep swimming. Glad to hear you are ok. Hoping things fall into place for you. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hugs! Hang in there. So annoying that the results still aren’t in…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. lyra211 says:

    So glad to hear from you. I’ve been wondering what’s going on. Here’s hoping you hit publish on one of those 15 posts eventually. πŸ™‚ It stinks that you still don’t have results, but it’s good that the samples are there and you should have answers this summer! I hope they’re good and helpful answers, or that they at least give you a clear direction about where to go from here. Wishing you all the best with the house hunt and in life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I am sure I will hit publish at some point… just not ready right now. πŸ™‚ I hope they are good answers too, and not something like “Inconclusive”, but that’s always a possibility 😦 I hope you are doing well and enjoying this nice weather!

      Like

  13. Thanks for the update. I’ve been worried about you! I’m 2 years FB free and absolutely love it. Maybe you should call your Nana to remind her how to be in touch? πŸ™‚ Sending a big hug and know you are in my thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: The Hail Mary Pass | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

  15. Pingback: Eight Months | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

