February Favorites: Part Deux

See my first post on my February favorites here

DREAM CATCHER

DreamCatcher

I saw recently that one of my friends on Facebook (well, more like a friendly acquaintance… her fiancé works with The Husband and we have only been in each other’s company a handful of times over the past few years, but they are really nice people and I don’t know why we don’t get together with them more often…) was making homemade dream catchers. After the weird dreams I had been having, I decided to take her up on one and now I have a beautiful dream catcher for our bedroom window! I had one a long time ago, when I was in high school, but had never thought of it again until I saw her pictures.

As for the weird dreams, I did have another bad dream (but not about boats capsizing or tornadoes) but only one since she made it for me so I’ll take that over two or three a week. The dream – I had a bad dream that IT happened, AGAIN. Except this time I never told anyone I was pregnant, not even The Husband, and i went to the hospital to have the procedure done by myself. And when the doctor told me, I had expected it and I didn’t even have a reaction. I just said “Whatever, when should I be back to take care of it?” I was so cold and callous, like it didn’t matter and I had no emotions. It was so strange. And when I woke up, that’s when my mind started whirling about our options and I started feeling uncomfortable again with the idea of trying a fourth time on our own. For the record, this is the FIRST time I’ve ever had a dream like that. I have never before had a dream about being in the ultrasound room or having a procedure.

OVERSIZED PLAID SHIRTS

I came across these shirts while shopping at Express last fall, and I instantly fell in love. I now own the shirt in four different colors. I wear them with jeans and leggings, and they are so comfortable and soft that I hardly feel like I have a shirt on when I wear them. I usually wear them with the sleeves rolled up and they don’t feel bunchy and uncomfortable at my elbows. And, they are just as soft after a few washes as they were when I bought them. For the record, the only reason why I bought four is because I had coupons when I bought them – I would not have paid full price for four of them. But, with Black Friday sales and the coupons they email to me, I was able to get them at a more reasonable price.

BOOKS

One of my New Year’s “resolutions” was to read more. My original goal was 12 books this year – which does not sound very ambitious, especially considering how many books I used to read in high school and college, but I had been in a reading slump. I’ve enjoyed spending time reading again – keeping my mind occupied, off the computer and internet and the Facebook and the TMZ. So far I’ve finished two books since January (below) and next up is Yes Please by Amy Poehler (a Christmas gift from my father.)

  • Coming Clean by Kimberly Rae Miller. This is a memoir about growing up with parents that are hoarders. I have never seen a single episode of the tv shows about hoarders, and while I knew the basic premise of the disorder I really couldn’t envision how bad it could be. I really really felt badly for her as she was describing the conditions and stories of her childhood.
  • Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll. I had a harder time with this book, because for the majority of the book the protagonist did not exhibit any redeeming qualities and I did not find any of the characters to be sympathetic or likable. I did enjoy it more the further I read, and in the end I wouldn’t say it was a “bad” book, but the “main event” is one of my own personal biggest fears and I was very tense reading that part of it. And, without giving too much away, I did recognize myself in one of the ways she dealt with her grief and anxiety – which was trying to create a “perfect” image. I certainly did not take it to her extreme, but I related to that desire and felt it particularly after dealing with my first loss. FullSizeRender
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to February Favorites: Part Deux

  1. Love Express. I have several of their Portofino Shirts, and I wear their jeans. I will have to check out these flannels! Cant go wrong with the oversized shirts. Thanks for the info!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jwhitworth7 says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the dreams 😦 I’ve always been interested in dream analysis. I really related to the “callous reaction” part that you spoke about. After my third miscarriage that’s how I was. It’s so sad that something like the loss of a pregnancy can become so routine. And I love the express shirt!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it is sad that it’s “routine” and expected… I never wanted this to be a part of my normal day to day life and now, between my own experiences and reading about others and doing my own research it just seems normal now, like I’m more surprised when someone actually delivers a living breathing child at this point. It’s sad really…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I “signed” a thing on goodreads.com committing to read 24 books this year. It’s mid Feb and I’m halfway through my first book for the year. Sigh. I love the shirts. I always see them but not sure I can put it off. Great list again!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Are you on GoodReads? Like another commenter, I use it and commit to reading a certain number of books and usually stick to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just recently joined Goodreads! I haven’t committed to any number of books yet – mostly I’ve been rating books I’ve already read and looking for good suggestions for my “Want to Read” list. I’ll have to check out the other features soon.

      Like

  5. I’m sorry about your dream… I get bad dreams often too, it really impacts my mood for several days. Hope you’re sleeping better now. I really liked the shirt, but I don’t think I could pull it off myself.. I love reading too, if you find a great book I’d love the suggestion.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: February Favorites III | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

