Group Text Hostage Situation

I woke up this morning, mind you after being up until 1AM because I went to the Patriots game last night, and was put in a hostage situation.

No, I wasn’t kidnapped or held for ransom but I was part of a group text and, because not everyone was on a Mac OS platform (iMessage) I couldn’t leave the conversation.

“Hey guys!! Hope you’re all doing well!! S and I just wanted to share that Baby T will be arriving in March!!”

My day took a turn for the worse at 7:50AM and still hasn’t recovered. As if being exhausted from being up late, having one of my employees call in sick and getting a cold wasn’t enough. NO, I had to be a part of a stupid group text for three hours with all the “Congratulations”, “What’s the sex”, “I have tons of stuff you can have!” nonsense going on. Seriously, WTF?

You know who else was supposed to be arriving in March? My baby.

I have no time for this nonsense. I put the conversation on “Mute” so I wouldn’t get the notifications but still, the texts come through. And, because I’m cheap, I don’t have unlimited texting (almost everyone uses iMessage anyway so I figured what’s the point??!) so a whole lot of my monthly allotment of text messages were used up on this. I sent K an angry email (she was a part of the group text too) and ranted back and forth for a bit. She commiserated with me and agreed that group texts are annoying, but of course she didn’t have the same emotions about the substance of the messages that I did.

I haven’t even seen these people in almost two years. Yes, we used to be close and vacation together, but I haven’t seen them in years. And, I know this sounds terrible and maybe this is my fatigue and cold speaking, but I am tired of having to pretend to be happy for everyone else all the time. I have three dead babies and a brother in rehab. When do I get my turn for happiness? Pure happiness and not the kind of happiness where there’s a nagging sadness behind it.

I know I am sad and angry and bitter. I know they are good people and deserve to be happy. I know if I hadn’t lost three babies I wouldn’t feel this way. But I did and I do. Most of the time I try to fight it and I do, but right now it all feels like too much and I am going to spend the weekend laying on the couch. At least I have an excuse since I have a cold.

0e694a3410d8f554f65cd55cd5b26cc5 53375444 54051739 57894293

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Group Text Hostage Situation

  1. Oh man. I would have lost it. Totally shitty. Sorry u had to be in on that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so sorry you day started with that text and then group continued on for so long. I too would not have enjoyed that! And I’m confident I’d be feeling the same way you are right now. I’m hopeful your pure happiness is on the way, but I understand and totally get how you are feeling. Sending my love and hoping your pure happiness hurries itself up and gets here already!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh, that is awful! And just super insensitive. Did the original texter know about your babies? If so I will personally drive up there and punch her. I hate group texts and I hate pregnancy announcements, and together that is some next-level shit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The original texter knew about my first baby, which is the one we lost at 19 weeks. Not the other two. K, one of my friends who was on the text and the one I emailed, is the only one who was in the group who knows about all 3. But yeah, the group text plus the announcement was a bad combination for me!

      Like

  4. mamajo23 says:

    Ugh. The worst. I am with theskyandback- terrible combo. So sorry you had to endure that. If it keeps going can you have someone else periodically check your phone and delete the chain? Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. OMG, that’s awful!!! I’m so sorry. ♡

    And also, I HATE group texts. It’s midnight. I get up at 4:30. What makes you think I want to hear a fun story about your dog, or how much you want to go shopping with your mom?!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lyra211 says:

    Ugh. That’s awful. And you’re completely right about being held hostage — in that situation you don’t want to be the one who rains on everyone’s parade (although I’d be cheering you on if you had decided to do it that way!), but spending the whole day being intermittently and painfully jabbed by insensitive comments isn’t what you want to do either. It’s a lose-lose situation. It’s like all the people I had to unfollow on facebook after our loss (you know, the ones who were complaining about pregnancy and/or posting cute bump pictures every week), but worse, because your phone follows you around all day and you can’t turn off the text messages.

    It’s crap and I’m sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t rain on anyone’s parade, but I also didn’t respond at all. Not a “Congrats” or “Best wishes” or anything… although my husband did respond and congratulate them so I’m going to let that count for the two of us. I was just so annoyed and feeling so down on myself I couldn’t say anything, so I said nothing. And I know all about unfollowing people on FB – I’d be better off not having an account at all I think!!! xxx.

      Like

  7. Wow, just wow. So sorry for you. There are so many things that I’m grateful to not experience – this group text thing is definitely one of them. I hope you can find a way to make those messages stop.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m so sorry, I’ve been in this situation a few times too (though it was WhatsApp group messaging) and it just sucks… Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ugh… some people! what don’t they just email it to everybody? So people can reply only to them. hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  10. oh man! I would have just turned off my phone. I hope that you spent the weekend laying on the couch just as you wanted, with ice cream. May I suggest, Fish Food from ben and jerrys?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: But your thoughts will soon be wandering, the way they always do | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

  12. Pingback: Weird Mother-To-Be Behaviors | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

  13. Pingback: March 15, 2016 | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

  14. Pingback: *Rolls eyes* | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

