The best excuse for feeling crappy

This past week was a long week. Monday was my first day back to work after 10 days off. That was bad enough, but the pregnancy hormones have started being rather unkind to me as well as of last weekend. I’ve been tired and alternating between hungry/nauseous. Some days I haven’t even felt like showering, just laying in bed as soon as I get home from work. I’ve gagged more than a few times but actually haven’t vomited yet. So yeah, going back to work this week was very rough. I feel bloated and fat and all I’ve worn are maxi dresses, and I haven’t had the energy to even straighten my hair. I’m also very paranoid about everything I eat. I am having trouble finding things that don’t make me want to gag, and are “safe.” I feel like anything and everything could be contaminated with e. coli, listeria, etc. etc. At a restaurant, at our work cafeteria, at the grocery store. What I would really really like right now is a big, Thanksgiving dinner with THE WORKS – turkey, gravy, vegetables, rolls, cranberry sauce, etc. I wish someone would make me a Thanksgiving dinner just for me.

Yesterday I had my follow up ultrasound to check on the bleed and to check for a heartbeat. Heartbeat was found right away – 130 bpm. Measuring 6w3d, which is exactly in line with my LMP. And the bleed is still there, but is smaller so that is good news as well. All in all I was told there is no reason for concern and I was then able to schedule my first prenatal appointment. So that appointment is in three weeks. In the meantime I also have to set up an appointment with MFM (Maternal Fetal Medicine); Dr. T wants to see me for an 8 week ultrasound and then subsequent ultrasounds through at least 20 weeks.

I don’t want to be whiny and complain too much. I feel guilty for even thinking about how bad I feel (physically) at times. I should just be thankful and grateful, and I am. Then I feel mad that I feel like I can’t wallow a bit – haven’t I earned the right after everything else? All I know is that I have definitely not been “glowing.” My mood has been relatively stable, although I really just don’t want to be bothered. All week I’ve felt like I just want to go to work, do my job, then come home.

I also had an acupuncture appointment this past Tuesday. It was my first appointment since becoming pregnant. J was very happy for me, of course, and we talked about how I was feeling emotionally and physically. She did her thing and after I left I felt very relaxed. In fact, when I got home I felt almost empty inside, like I had no stomach, which was a relief from the hunger/nausea. A short relief but a relief nonetheless. And I haven’t felt much anxiety, aside from the whole “Everything I eat is probably contaminated” issue. I am going back in ten days (going to try every other week) and I hope we can do more to help with the stomach issue this time since the anxiety and nerves seem generally under control.

So that’s about all that’s been going on. As I’ve had no energy and have spent a lot more time relaxing than usual I’ve been continuing a “Gilmore Girls” marathon to keep myself entertained. Which, The Husband is none too pleased about since he hates the show but… it’s familiar and feels like traveling back in time and visiting old friends. I haven’t watched any of it since it went off the air, yay for Netflix streaming. I am also sad about Jon Stewart’s last show this week. I have it DVR’d and I haven’t watched it yet. I really don’t want to because this is the LAST new Daily Show I will ever watch with him. I feel as if I should be saving it for a special occasion.

Paris Knows.

Paris Knows.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The best excuse for feeling crappy

  1. I hate to say I am glad u feel lousy, but I am –only because I think its a really good sign. I do hope it eases up a little though, at least enough for you to enjoy a little! I felt the same way everytime I was preggo about eating “safe” really tough! I hate even thinking about all that again. Cant wait to hear how the next appointment goes ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  2. lyra211 says:

    Glad that things are looking good and the bleed is getting smaller! Sorry about the queasiness — it sucks, but at least you know it’s a good sign! Also, I’m pretty sure you are allowed to whine and complain and watch as much Gilmore Girls as you want during this pregnancy! If anyone’s earned it, you have. Sending best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nara says:

    Ah, poor you! It’s so hard to think straight when you’re feeling lousy. I hope that everything eases up soon! And the marathon TV session helps! X

    Liked by 1 person

  4. RJ says:

    I am sending you lots of positive vibes! Yay for the heartbeat and boo for feeling awful. It’s great that you’re doing acupuncture and that it’s helping some. I hope you feel better soon and that everything continues going well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glad that the ultrasound looked good and that acupuncture is helping. Bleeding in pregnancy is so scary 😮 Hang in there!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So happy to see the heartbeat was nice and strong. And you can wallow all you want. I felt sick to my stomach for 9 weeks and it was rough. But I did find big consolation in the nausea because I felt like that meant that everything was on track. Hoping and praying for an uneventful 34 weeks. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I am so happy to hear that baby is measuring perfect and the heartbeat is strong! I also say wallow all you want, if you are sick, you don’t have to sugar coat it and pretend you are loving every second. Pregnancy is hard, be fair to yourself.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. So glad to hear that baby is doing well!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wifey says:

    I hate that you’re feeling bad, but you’re right, it’s for such a great reason. Congrats and I so hope you continue to get good news!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh my goodness! I have been on vacation and didn’t even know you were pregnant. I am bursting at the seams with happiness for you. I am also sending up prayers for this third time to be The Charm. Serious prayers. In the meantime I am really and truly sorry you’re feeling crap.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yeah for a strong heartbeat! Pulling for you over here!

    Like

  12. Congratulations. All sounds v good! X

    Like

Let me know what you think...

