Beach Vacation & Holiday Weekend

Last week was my mini-vacation to the beach with my family. Every year my family heads up to New Hampshire for a week, but I do not stay the entire week. This year I stayed three nights. It’s a quick road trip, a few minutes less than two hours from my house (depending on Boston traffic.) We are quite literally right on the beach – a 50 yard walk to the sand.

I drank more than I should have, ate more than I should have, and worked out less than I should have (only went for one run.) At night I would lay in bed (I had a room in my grandparent’s rented cottage to myself) and listen to the hum of the ceiling fan and watch the curtains rise and fall with the salt air wind. I was almost able to convince myself that none of this matters. That it doesn’t matter if I am ever pregnant again or have children. That life goes on and I am going on with it, and maybe I just am not supposed to have children and should give it up. I was this.close. to convincing myself. No temperature taking, no OPKs, no wondering. No sex, because The Husband didn’t go up with me. Just wandering aimlessly – to the beach, to the boardwalk, to the restaurants, the stores.

And, is there anything better than an outdoor shower? My favorite part of renting a beach cottage is an outdoor shower. In any event I was home Friday afternoon in time for the local Independence Day festivities. All in all, a good mini-vacation. My favorite part of 4th of July weekend was being able to captain my mother and step-father’s boat. Maybe I will give this all up, get a boat and be a pirate.

Driving through Boston. Traffic at 6PM, it never ends.

Driving through Boston. Why is there traffic going in to Boston at 7PM???

Welcome to the beach.

Welcome to the beach.

My youngest cousin, P, flying kites.

My youngest cousin, P, flying kites.

Rainbow after a particularly nasty thunderstorm.

Rainbow after a particularly nasty thunderstorm.

Moonlight.

Moonlight.

Sending off some sky lanterns.

Sending off some sky lanterns.

We used to play manhunt in these dunes.

We used to play manhunt in these dunes.

Atlantic coast.

Atlantic coast.

The view from a rooftop bar

The view from a rooftop bar on the boardwalk

Pre fireworks bonfire.

Pre fireworks bonfire.

Pre-fireworks sunset.

Pre fireworks sunset.

Captain for the day

Captain for the day

Boat shoes

Boat shoes

USS Joseph P. Kennedy

Cruising around the USS Joseph P. Kennedy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Beach Vacation & Holiday Weekend

  1. lyra211 says:

    Looks like a fabulous vacation — New Hampshire is gorgeous, and my husband and I are planning to take part of our vacation there later this summer. 🙂 I definitely recognize those feelings of apathy about the whole pregnancy thing… there have been a lot of moments in the last few months when I’ve stopped and thought to myself, “Wait, why did I ever want kids again? Will they really be worth all of this?” It’s more than OK to ask those questions sometimes, and I think it’s a healthy thing to be able to feel like you’ll be OK and things in general will be OK even if bio-kids don’t work out. That’s not quite the same thing as giving up, I guess, but hopefully you can move your feelings in that direction?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you enjoy your time there when you go! The beach is my favorite, but out in the country/mountains is also quite beautiful. I was definitely feeling apathetic while I was away, and whether it was just a natural progression after all I have been through or too many Bud Lights I don’t know… but it was nice not to be WORRYING so much. Of course, when I got home, the OPK was out in full force. :/

      Like

  2. Love the pics!! So pretty there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you had a nice time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. calcandide says:

    Beautiful pictures! You should definitely become a pirate!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the pictures! So glad you had a getaway!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Krystal says:

    Looks beautiful! Vacations are for eating too much and not working out… You certainly did much better than me! All I do is eat and sleep and drink on vacations. Love the boat picture. Makes me want to go out on a lake soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This looks like a great vacation. I am with you – outdoor showers are the BEST!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Three *** | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

