Weekend Trip: New Orleans

Last weekend my friend and I traveled to New Orleans for our first “Ladies Weekend.” We left Boston early Friday afternoon and landed back home Sunday night. Only two nights, but a fun two nights down in The Bayou.

Where we stayed: Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Right in the French Quarter, on the corner of Orleans and Bourbon Streets. Really a great location! Take a left out of the hotel and you are behind St. Louis Cathedral. Take a right and you are on Bourbon Street. We had an interior room, which was great because we didn’t hear the hustle, bustle and noise of Bourbon Street when we turned in for the night.

IMG_6332

The first afternoon, after we flew in, we checked in to our hotel then headed out to check out the French Quarter. We made it down to the Mississippi River and saw the Natchez go by, then did dinner and Bourbon Street. The second day we spent the morning eating beignets (yummy Cafe du Monde), checking out St. Louis Cathedral, and shopping. Then we grabbed a quick lunch and relaxed by the pool. That evening we went out on a ghost tour courtesy of French Quarter Phantoms then had dinner and again visited the Bourbon Street festivities. Sunday morning we had breakfast at CC’s Coffee House, then we went on an airboat swamp tour! And, our airboat got STUCK in the swamp at one point! We got stuck on a grassy marsh area, for 20 min., and he had to call for help to get us off the marshy area. I wasn’t worried about the alligators, and flies, and birds – but being stuck on the bayou in a very humid 92 degrees, with no breeze – I was sweating in places I didn’t even know I could sweat. Beads of sweat on my legs and face. It was unbearable and I started to feel a little sick to my stomach due to the heat and stagnant air. Thankfully once we got moving again I felt better, and the boats move pretty quickly so we got a nice breeze. Definitely an adventure! I enjoyed learning more about the ecosystem and animals there.

All in all it was a good trip. I’m glad I got to experience New Orleans. It isn’t going to be my new favorite vacation spot, and there were definitely some seedy areas, but it was still a great trip! I loved the different architecture of the French Quarter, and the pretty homes. Some places were very weathered and run down, which was surprising to me since Katrina was almost 10 years ago, but some places were really beautiful. Some of it was dirty, and some of it was well maintained. Walking down some streets made me feel like I was in a quaint movie scene, and other places I felt I was in a third world country or something (maybe exaggerating slightly, but I don’t know the words to describe how I felt.) And Bourbon Street was certainly very festive – lots of great people watching, food, and drinks! Everywhere we went says “Drinks To Go” or “Cocktails To Go”, it was really a lot of fun (but believe me, we didn’t go too crazy, we were back at our hotel by 11:30 every night!) As fun as it was I definitely wouldn’t feel safe going off Bourbon Street at night by myself.

IMG_6322

Mercedes Benz Superdome! Looks like a UFO to me.

Mississippi River

Mississippi River

IMG_6382

Beignets and iced coffee at Cafe due Monde! So delish.

IMG_6389

Interior of St. Louis Cathedral. So pretty.

IMG_6396

Lounging poolside Saturday afternoon.

IMG_6398

Southern fried chicken from Willie’s Chicken Shack. So bad but so yummy.

IMG_6461

Behind St. Louis Cathedral at night.

IMG_6494

My new alligator friend from the swamp tour.

IMG_6475

Heading into the swamp on the airboat.

A scene from

A scene from “Interview With A Vampire” was filmed here.

The home of the infamous Madam LaLaurie.

The mansion of the infamous Madame LaLaurie.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekend Trip: New Orleans

  1. So fun! Glad you had a weekend ‘away’!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed your weekend away!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fun! I’ve been to New Orleans a couple of times, before and after Katrina and I have two comments in light of your observations: first, you could go from moneyed lawns to rickety shacks in a blink of an eye even before the big hurricane – there is a huge divide between haves and have nots in that area, it seemed to me; second, Katrina took a huge toll on this city but it isn’t solely to blame for the great divide between rich or even middle class and poor. I think the difference is that for those who didn’t have to begin with repairing their condemned houses was not an option. At least that’s what I saw when I was there a few years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Krystal says:

    Looks like so much fun! I’ve never been there but I’ve always wanted to go. Thank you for sharing pictures! I’m especially loving the food pictures, lol. I’ve got the travel bug now!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Birthday Friends | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

  6. Pingback: Our Souls Were Singing, Do You Remember, Never a Cloudy Day | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

