(Wo)Man’s Best Friend

Six years ago today The Husband and I got our first pet together.

I remember driving home with her, she sat on The Husband’s lap while I drove and they’ve been pretty inseparable ever since. The first thing we did when we got home was give her a bath, and she wasn’t very pleased. Then we took her to my mother’s house, and his parents house, and from there on out she was by our sides. She’s been on vacations with us, to family parties with us – we bring her with us anywhere we can take her.

During the past year I started calling her my little angel (even though, at 70 lbs., she’s not so “little”). She laid with me the last night,Β she sat by me stoically while I cried in the aftermath. Never leaving me, just sitting solid as a rock, sometimes staring right in my eyes as if she was trying to send me a message (even if I’m sure at some moments the message was for me to stop wailing and disrupting her quiet time of staring out the window.). At times when I’d lay in bed I’d cling to her like she was my life raft, and sometimes I felt like she was. She gave me a reason to get out of bed – even if it was just to let her outside to the bathroom or to feed her. I’d take her for walks while trying to process everything. She’d lick the tears and sweat off my face, sniff me to make sure I was okay. I don’t know what I would have done without her.

I tell The Husband that I love her more than I love most people, save for my family. At this point in my life I’d choose her company over a lot of other people’s company. If that makes me anti-social, or a hermit, so be it!

I hug her and kiss her every day and tell her I love her. I take pictures and videos because I never want to forget her. I wonder all the time if she knows how much we love her. I think that she does.

First Bath

First Bath

Very content with The Husband

Very content with The Husband

First Snowstorm

First Snowstorm

Enjoying fresh air and sunshine

Enjoying fresh air and sunshine

Posing

Posing

Are you talking to me?

Are you talking to me?

Relaxing on vacation

Taking a nap on vacation

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to (Wo)Man’s Best Friend

  1. What a pretty pup! I’m positive she knows how much you love her. Dogs are good like that. Xo.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I felt like that about my last bulldog who was with me through the first three miscarriages. The day we lost him I was devastated, but Cheesecake just knows me now too. You’re right, they are very much our life rafts. Such a beautiful post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know what you mean. Nemo is my life raft as well (even though he’s a little under 4 lbs). He’s one of the best things that has ever happened to me and I’d change spending time with most of the people I know just to be with him ❀️
    Hoping you’re doing alright. Take care of yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lyra211 says:

    Sweet puppy!!! She’s adorable, and I love the head tilt when you talk to her. πŸ™‚ Yeah, my 3.5-year-old dog will always be “pup” and “small dog” to me, even though she’s 55 lbs and I never got the pleasure of knowing her as an actual pup (we adopted her when she was ~1.5). Dogs are just the best companions. Mine is sitting next to me on the couch as I type this. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think she is adorable too, but I’m pretty sure that I’m biased. And I love that you adopted your dog when she was a bit older, sometimes I feel so bad when older dogs are looked over for puppies. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Terrakna says:

    The more I get to know people, the more I love my dog. S’truth!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. She is so beautiful. My rescue boxer (who passed away at 13 some years ago) lived through some of my biggest life changes and transformative moments and was always there for and with me too. I miss her still and we talk about her often even though she’s been gone for over 5 years. Your beautiful girl knows how loved she is. I’m certain of that.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. She is absolutely beautiful! I know our dog has been my best friend and at my side by everyone on of our pregnancies and subsequent losses. So, I totally get what you mean when you say you love her more then many people. I too tell her all the time I love her, and recently noticed I tell her every time I leave the house, so she probably thinks its my way of saying “I’m leaving without you”.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nara says:

    I totally get this! Your dog is gorgeous. I’ve turned into a crazy dog lady. When I have a night in on my own I’m actually happy because I know I can just sit on the sofa / in bed with my furry companion!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. mamaetmaman says:

    What a sweet girl. We love our dogs like they are our children too. They are so special, and we feel lucky to have them in our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Krystal says:

    LOVE the doggy post. We have a dog as well and she is like our fluffy little daughter (although not so little). You have a crazy cute dog!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: February Favorites: Layla | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

