I mean it’s one banana Michael. What could it cost, $10?

In a previous post I mentioned how I was reading It Starts With the Egg by Rebecca Fett. I’ve finished now, and actually passed it on to my work friend R. I think I mentioned how it was making me really rather paranoid about everything in my house! I was feeling like everything was TOXIC. Tupperware, plastic bags, my yoga mat, perfumes, nail polishes, etc. Sometimes having information is wonderful, but sometimes having information paralyzes you and for a day or two I felt paralyzed!

One action that I’ve taken is to exclusively use my own home made body lotion. It’s made from organic oils – coconut, almond, jojoba and lavender. I made my own body lotion last summer (for the first time) but have only used it sporadically since. Now I am not using anything else. The skin is the largest organ of our bodies and absorbs so much all day, and I know this is only one step, but I hope it helps somehow even if it’s only in a small way.

I also ordered my first bundle from The Honest Company. I had to get past the fact that Jessica Alba is a co-founder (I’m not her biggest fan). My delivery is due to arrive tomorrow. I ordered lemongrass hand soap, fruit and veggie wash,  shampoo + body wash, organic shave oil, sunscreen and face + body lotion.  I think I got a really good deal on it all – I got a 35% discount because it was my first purchase with them AND a $15 credit for their Earth Day promotion. So all of those items, and shipping, for less than $25. Also, while I was at Target last week, I purchased their dryer cloths and laundry detergent. I have used both of these and don’t have any complaints about either. I haven’t tried to wash any laundry items that have serious stains on them with this detergent yet, so I can’t speak to how of a stain remover it is, but I like knowing that the products are “better” for me and that the company is socially responsible. Once I receive and use the products I ordered online I will write more.

Along with purchasing these products I also wanted to try Seventh Generation products. I don’t like putting all my eggs in one basket and I wanted to try each brand to see which I liked better or if I noticed a difference at all. So I purchased their hand soapdish liquid and auto dish packs. I’ve been using the hand soap daily and have no complaints at all. And I do enjoy the scent. I have used the dish liquid a couple of times and have no complaints at all, so would be comfortable purchasing that again. I haven’t used the dish packs yet.

I’ve gotten rid of some of my Tupperware (I’m a bad girl and am still hanging on to a few items I use frequently), and am using my Pyrex a lot more often now (especially with leftovers.)

I’ve also started taking a daily CoQ-10 supplement, along with my whole food vitamins and folate. I like that I am taking whole food vitamins now (at the original recommendation of my acupuncturist) instead of synthetic. I don’t know why I didn’t do that sooner. I take extra folate as that is the recommendation once one has experienced a neural tube defect in a previous pregnancy. I was previously taking folic acid but switched to folate – this article gives a basic overview.

I really don’t want to give up nail polish though! I love love love painting my nails. ESPECIALLY during the summer – bright, fun, summer colors and I switch them up often. I’m giving up my favorite Victoria’s Secret fragrance (Love Spell), and now my nails too?!? Why can’t companies just make products without all of these bad chemicals? I feel like the tide is turning and people want more organic, natural, free and clear products. Maybe I just think that because I want those things. I realize that for some people and families these items may be out of their budget, and they maybe can’t afford better products and I don’t think that is fair. I think everyone should have access to safe products. It’s up to you whether or not you want to buy them, but you should at least feel like you have the option and aren’t limited to cheaper, toxic products.

I have been seeing my acupuncturist every other week now, now that we have decided to start trying “seriously.” And, if my BBT chart is to be believed, I ovulated three days earlier than what has been usual – which would result in a 32 day cycle instead of 35. I’ll take it. Right now I am at the end of the first week of a two week wait. I haven’t been giving it much thought – I was busy with my furry houseguests over the weekend and have been very busy at work writing performance reviews for the three people I supervise. Two were easy to write and score, as those employees are good and I typically have very few issues related to their work. However the third was rather difficult as that employee has a few more “opportunities for improvement”, shall we say. And tends to get very defensive.  I’m sure I don’t need to go into any more detail about that whole situation. So I’ve had plenty to keep my mind occupied.

I’ll leave you all with a picture of my love bugs. These two little fur angels bring a smile to my face every day.

My love bugs.

My love bugs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I mean it’s one banana Michael. What could it cost, $10?

  1. I know how you feel – I have avoided reading ‘it starts with the Egg’ because I know it will freak me out about everything around me. You can’t live life jumping at every shadow – you know what I mean? As for nail polish – I have heard that the brand O.P.I is ok to use and does not include some of the nastier chemicals – beautiful range of colours too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have not read the book you mentioned, and we aren’t even trying anymore but I still try to stay away from a lot of strong chemicals. I’ve decided it’s just a healthier way to live. I moved away from traditional chemical cleaners years ago and only use an organic one now. And I use OPI nail polish as it’s supposed to be one of the best, but of course it’s expensive. I don’t panic about it, but basically whenever I find a good more natural product that I can afford I tend to buy it. I feel like no matter what it wont hurt us to limit our exposure to toxins.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Let me know how it goes with the new products! I read a book called Pregnancy Miracle and it made me toss all my aromatherapy products (which I loved but also gave me allergies). I tried the Honest belly balm when I was pregnant and couldn’t stand the smell! I have not tried anymore of their products. Fingers crossed! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mamaetmaman says:

    I’m looking forward to reading your review on the new products you bought. We continue to make the transition to reduce the biotoxicity in our homes as well. We threw out plastic Tupperware and replaced it with glass ones, we use natural body products (I LOVE Hugo Naturals body wash and lotion), and I use baking soda and apple cider vinegar rinses for my hair. Where we fall short is the cleaning agents. DW loves the harsher stuff for killing germs, but I’m happier with more natural products. Since she does most of the scrubbing around here, I know better than to argue.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have never heard of Hugo Naturals, but I looked on their website and there are some retailers selling their products near to me. I will have to check them out 🙂 And I agree about the arguing – there are some things that The Husband does that I would like to give him “helpful advice” on but I keep my lips zipped, we have to pick our battles!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Voice of the Sea | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

