Versatile Blogger Award

Versatile Blogger Award

A few weeks ago I was nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by fellow bloggers A Calm Persistence, Tales Of A 30 Year Old Nothing, and Mom to Angels. Thank you all so much for nominating me! Although I was nominated three times, I am only going to do one set of seven facts… because I can be lazy when I want to be AND I’m not sure how many undisclosed facts I have left after the blogging challenge I did in February.

These are the rules when you are nominated:

  • Post the award on your blog
  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • Share seven facts about yourself
  • Nominate 15 blogs
  • List the nominees and let them know

Seven Facts About Me

1. I am a Netflix addict. Particularly with TV shows. When I get into something I will watch episode after episode – at the gym on my iPhone, at night on my iPad, on the computer, etc. It’s really addicting, at least for me. The first show that was under my “Recommendations” was 24. When I received that first disc of Jack Bauer’s awesomeness I stayed up until 3AM watching. And I was in a wedding that day and had to be up at 8AM to meet for breakfast with the bride and other bridesmaids before festivities began. Anyway, I don’t feel bad for being tired during the wedding because the couple divorced two years later.

2. I recently started oil pulling in the mornings with coconut oil. Not sure if it’s helping anything, but it doesn’t seem to be hurting. I have used coconut oil for home body lotion as well (I use coconut, jojoba, almond and lavender oils for my body lotion.)

3. I started reading the book It Starts With The Egg by Rebecca Fett and I am now paranoid about everything in my kitchen. Soaps, tupperware, travel mugs. Right now I am about half way through. More on this in another post.

It Starts With The Egg

It Starts With The Egg

4. The Husband and I have known each other since we were kids. I think we met when I was around six or seven, as he and his parents lived across the street from my grandparents (his parents still live in that house, but my grandmother sold hers after my grandfather passed.) But we were not high school sweethearts – although we grew up in the same town we went to different high schools (and he was three grades ahead of me.)

5. I am running in my first 5k of the year next weekend. I haven’t found any others to run (yet) but am looking for other local races. My friend L and I are running together then going out for lunch afterwards.

6. I got a new car (BMW X3) in November and I love it. Love.it. I have never liked any of my cars as much as I like this one. It was a total impulse purchase, I’m typically very fiscally responsible, but I thought to myself – I’ve always wanted one, and I had a shitty year, and if I wanted to spend my money on a car I was going to do it (as long as The Husband agreed.) And I can honestly say that I love driving it, so, that’s all the justification I need right now. A few years from now I might wish I still had the money I spent on it, but I’ll deal with that then.

7. I am volunteering at my neighborhood’s annual Earth Day cleanup next weekend. My job will be cleaning up litter on the side of one of the main roads leading to my neighborhood. It always looks so nice after the cleanup weekend and it’s sad how quickly it gets littered and yucky again.

As for the nominees – I would love to read from anyone reading this blog! There are so many blogs I enjoy and it’s hard to choose just a few. If you are reading this and have a blog, consider yourself nominated.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Versatile Blogger Award

  1. I’m so glad you participated! I had to look up oil pulling. I had no idea! I also downloaded that book last week and haven’t started reading it yet. Now I’m nervous!! Not sure I want to read it now. Good luck on your 5K and the clean-up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved reading more about you. I have to ask, what is oil pulling? I guess I could google it.
    Wishing you the best on your 5K. I’m sure you’ll do just awesome!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Netflix addict as well!! I’m particularly obsessed with Orange Is The New Black and House of Cards. I also watch Scandal, and recently started watching Empire (finished the season in a weekend- absolutely fantastic), The Good Wife, and Madam Secretary. None of which compares to 24!!!! I had to Google oil pulling as well! So awesome you are running. I haven’t ran in a while :/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely to learn more about you. I tried oil pulling for a while. The coconut oil has a lovely taste thankfully. I’m also reading it starts with the egg. I just swapped all the tupperware for glass ones. Cleaning product swap coming soon. lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Caroline says:

    Congrats on your award! I oil pulled this morning 😉 Hope your 5k goes great!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. G E says:

    I turned into a totally crazy person after reading that book! I think many of the changes were for the best anyway, but I think my husband was worried about my sanity. I threw out everything plastic in the kitchen, switched beauty products, etc. There was some serious turmoil in our house. Can’t wait to hear more…

    Good luck in the 5K and good for you!

    We are thinking of getting an X1 this fall. I’m psyched for the upgrade. I never cared much about cars, but after driving it, I realized there is a BIG difference!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t gotten rid of the tupperware yet but bought new laundry detergent, dish detergent, hand soap, etc. and I’ve been exclusively using only my homemade body lotion made from organic oils. Going to look for tupperware replacements this weekend 🙂
      And yes, there is a big difference with the cars! We originally went to the dealership looking for an X1, test drove the 328 and then ended up with the X3. We got the cold weather package and the heated steering wheel was mint during all the blizzards we had this year!

      Like

  7. Krystal says:

    I have heard SO many things about Netflix and am this close to joining the bandwagon. If only I had more time to watch tv!! I love that you and your husband have known each other so long. So sweet!!! Good luck with your 5k – you are awesome for doing it! I could never run one!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

