Day 18: What Am I Afraid Of?

This question reminds me of that Modern Family episode… where they are all interviewed at the beginning and they are asked this very question. It goes like this:

Mitchell : What am I most afraid of? Hmm.., let’s see.

Alex : Global warming. And getting a “B”

Claire : The phone ringing in the middle of the night.

Phil : That I’m too much of a perfectionist.

Claire : Honey, this isn’t a job interview.

Phil : Oh, man. Job interviews.

Jay : Nothing.

Gloria : Yeah, right. What about the pigeons?

Jay : Oh, I don’t like them. They’re shifty.

Cameron : Losing Mitchell.

Mitchell : Oh! Hotel bedspreads.

Haley : Never getting my driver’s license. Or getting one and the picture sucks.

Manny : Dying alone.

I’d have to agree with Claire on this one. I am always worried about something terrible happening to someone I love. The Husband, our pets, my parents, my grandparents, brother, etc. If the phone rings after 9 at night or before 8 in the morning I automatically think something terrible has happened.

Another fear I have is flying, and, coincidentally, I have to get on a plane Sunday for my business trip. I never used to be afraid of flying as a child, and then one day I realized that – the plane could come down in a way other than a smooth landing. Or it could crash. And then once I realized that I was afraid. And it doesn’t just end with crashes – I’m afraid of all things related to flying. Planes being hijacked. Planes just falling off the radar and being lost forever (this one came about last March.) Germs on planes. Snakes on planes. People trying to sneak weapons on a plane. Sitting next to a crying child or a smelly person and not being able to breathe. Turbulence. Plane malfunctions. What if someone isn’t doing their job or paying attention as the plane takes off? What if air traffic control screws up? I have a problem relying on other people when my life is on the line. I don’t like the lack of control of it all. I could go on, and on, and on with all the fears I have related to flying. And realistically I know the odds, I know it’s safe, blah blah blah. I’ve downloaded podcasts that deal with helping people with a fear of flying. I’ve done the breathing exercises and visualizations. But as far as I’m concerned the odds don’t apply to me. I am going to be the 1%, have the short end of the stick, forever now.

I’m also afraid of running alone – outdoors that is. I’m afraid of being hit by a car, or attacked by some crazy idiot. So most of my running is treadmill running, unless I am running outdoors with someone else. I guess I could broaden this and say that it isn’t specific to running, this could happen anytime I am out and about alone.

Those are my major fears. I have others but none of them are as strong as these.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 18: What Am I Afraid Of?

  1. Krystal says:

    I love that show. I also agree – the phone ringing in the middle of the night is the worst. My husband is a firefighter and I always fear that someone will be at my door at 2 am telling me bad news. I love these daily posts you are doing – it is great getting to “know” you!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Real Neat Blog Award | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

