Ashleigh, Massachusetts

I took a page from my blog friends My Perfect Breakdown and myfireflies and decided to share our pregnancy loss story on 1 in 10, a blog dedicated to raising awareness of pregnancy terminations for medical reasons. Although I had written about our losses before, it was almost cathartic to write it all out and process some of it in my mind again, with a slightly different perspective since I’m removed somewhat from the immediacy of the events.

1 in 10

securedownload[1]

Wife, daughter, sister, mother to two angels and two fur children.

After five years of marriage, my husband and I decided it was time to add children to our family. After five months of trying, we were expecting our first child. Five months later we discovered at our 19-week anatomy scan that our child had several anomalies and was “incompatible with life.” After being given our options, we decided to terminate the pregnancy by D&E. Four months after that we discovered we were expecting our second child. We were cautiously optimistic – hoping for the best but expecting the worst. At our 13-week scan our second child was diagnosed with anencephaly. With a sense of deja vu, we decided to terminate this pregnancy by D&E. In a span of seven months we lost two children; terminated two pregnancies due to lethal abnormalities. Full story.

View original post

This entry was posted in 2nd trimester loss, abnormality, anencephaly, d&e, perinatal loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ashleigh, Massachusetts

  1. Reading this brought tears to my eyes. I admire your courage to share this part of your journey and to survive it with such grace. You are truly inspirational and I am thankful to know you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ChickinNH says:

    You are so brave to share your story. I am so sorry for everything you have been through. I wish there were any words that could make anything better or easier for you. Just know I think of you a lot and send big virtual (((hugs))).

    Like

  3. myhopejar says:

    I have so many tears reading this hon. You are so so brave for sharing your story. It’s unreal that you have had to endure this not once, but twice. I agree with the comments above, you are an inspiration hon. Huge hug my friend. ❤

    Like

  4. I think WordPress ate my comment. I’m never as good the second time around. 😦 While I am very grateful that you shared your story, I am heartbroken for you and your husband. I truly hope that the next time a tiny light enters your life your key choices include things like “pink or blue?” My heart goes out to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad you shared your story too. Reading it broke my heart all over again. I’m sorry you’ve been through this. ❤

    Like

  6. I think it is wonderful that you shared your story. I hope it was helpful for you in some way and I am sure it will be helpful for others facing similar unbearable circumstances. Life is just so unfair sometimes. Like you said, I, too, am thankful that you (and others) live somewhere that options are available and accessible. Thinking of you.

    Like

Let me know what you think...

