Wanderer, your footsteps are the road, and nothing more

I haven’t felt like blogging too much lately. A combination of being busy, too tired to blog and not having much that I felt like talking about.

Saturday night The Husband and I went to dinner. Our food was excellent and the service really great.  My only complaint, and this isn’t a complaint so much as a nitpick, is that the clientele was older. We were two of the youngest in the restaurant at 8PM on a Saturday night. So not a complaint really. And with good food and good dessert, who really cares?

Sunday morning I got a surprise – I woke up to a text message from my aunt inviting me to the Patriots game with her. My family has a number of season tickets, and she had an extra. So of course I said yes. I had a good time, but really I didn’t feel as “into it” as I usually am. I was definitely preoccupied – and  every time I saw a pregnant woman it distracted me. Of course it was great that the home team won, BUT, they played terrible!!! The offensive line is terrible. No time. I really hope they get their act together, and fast.


Monday and Tuesday I attended a conference with my boss in Rhode Island. Our commute is minimal compared to people who flew in from other areas of the country, so we drove in each day rather than spending the night at the hotel. I did, however, have to wake up earlier than usual – my typical commute to work each day is ten minutes, and the commute to the conference was an hour. The conference was good – I went to a lot of interesting breakout sessions and did some networking. All in all it left me tired each day, but in a good way.

I also started taking Spanish lessons at work. The company is offering free spanish lessons in an effort to help us better communicate with internal and external customers in new markets, Latin America, Mexico, etc. I signed up a while ago and had my first class today. It was interesting and I think it will be a good challenge. Because I already speak French they said it will be easy for me to pick things up, but sometimes I got confused in wanting to use the French word instead of Spanish. I’m looking forward to continuing the class.

The most important thing, as it relates to The Husband and I and our recent loss, was that I got a call on Monday from A (the genetic counselor.) The results from our karotype testing came back normal on both of us. On the one hand I am relieved – this is good news. On the other hand, and maybe this is just ignorance on my part, but I don’t understand the significance of this. How often do people have abnormal results? I didn’t, and don’t, believe that the anencephaly was caused by some genetic issue. Does this confirm that belief? Does this mean that we aren’t carriers for any disorders? If our genes are normal, what caused the kidney issue with Baby #1? (I realize I will never have an answer to this.) I’m happy with the results, but I don’t fully understand the implications. I don’t know the questions I should be asking. For now I am keeping track of questions that I have for when we get the microarray analysis back. We aren’t in a rush and it’s too soon to start trying again now, so I can wait until they call us back with those results before asking all the questions.  

I’ll end this with photos of pretty flowers – the first set was from my friend N at work, who got them for me upon my return to work last week to brighten up my desk and help cheer me up (she is one of the few people who knew about Pregnancy #2.) The second is a photo of the roses The Husband bought me for our anniversary.

Pretty flowers from a good friend.
Anniversary roses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wanderer, your footsteps are the road, and nothing more

  1. Mel says:

    I'm glad you had a good time at the game and were able to get out and enjoy yourself for awhile. I remember after my loss last year, it was so difficult to see other pregnant women. At times, I just wanted to stay home and avoid seeing any at all – it was so hard! The flowers that your friend sent to you are beautiful. Isn't it great to have caring friends like that? And those roses – so pretty! Your husband gets an A+ from me!!! Thinking of you!!!

    Mel @ thereisahigherhope.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Go Pats! They haven't looked that great this season, but it looks like it was a beautiful day for the game. I'm glad to see a few positive things in your post… the Pats, Spanish lessons, the flowers.

    Seeing pregnant women *still* makes my heart skip a beat. I always wonder whether it was easy for them, whether they have lost a baby, or if they are one of those women who just get pregnant and pop out a baby. I think the same way now about other women I see of a similar age w/o kids. I wonder if they are looking at me and thinking, “What a jerk. That woman probably just got pregnant at the drop of a hat and has no problems.” I think your feelings are only natural and they still haven't gone away for me… hang in there.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much! Yes I am lucky to have her as a friend and colleague. And I guess I will keep The Husband too 😉

    Like

  4. Yes, it was a good day for a game – unseasonably warm and humid though! I have all the same thoughts you do about pregnant women now, and sometimes it is so hard. I wish I could have blinders on and just avoid seeing them!

    Like

  5. myhopejar says:

    I'm glad your keryotyping came back normal. I remember being really confused after we got ours back and it came back normal too. It didn't explain all our miscarriages, but at least we knew we weren't passing on a genetic abnormality. Hopefully you're doctor will have some answers for you. Those flowers are gorgeous! I'm so glad you have a supportive friend at work and those roses from your hubby are also gorgeous! Thinking about you hon ❤

    Like

  6. Thank you ❤ As tough as I try to be, it is nice to have support and pretty flowers don't hurt either.

    Like

Let me know what you think...

