Six

Today marks six years of wedded bliss for The Husband and me. To be honest, I did not feel much like celebrating. I know this is a special day for us, and I did my best to be in a better mood. And honestly my mood has been better – not as much crying now that the immediacy has passed. Also maybe my hormones aren’t as up and down? But we decided to at least go to dinner at our local mall and then walked around a little after. He made reservations for tomorrow night at a fancier restaurant, which we’ve never been to, so I’m hoping we like it. 
 
One thing I have indulged in this week is retail therapy. In this previous post I wrote about linking objects and grief keeping. I bought a ruby and diamond eternity ring for Baby #1. Well, this week I bought an aquamarine ring for Baby #2. My birthday is in March, and Baby #2’s due date was a week after my birthday. So we both would have the aquamarine gem stone as our birth stone. In honor of this I bought this ring – I had also been wanting a ring with my birth stone for quite some time now, so it was a way to knock two things off my list with one purchase. However, considering I have hospital bills that will be coming in soon, I probably should stop my spending now. 
 


When I think back to how happy we were six years ago at our wedding, or even last year on our vacation as we celebrated five years, I feel naive. Like – “You fools! Did you think you could be happy forever and that everything would come easy for you? Ha!” Not that every day was easy – we certainly have had our disagreements, experienced the loss of pets and struggled as new homeowners at the beginning, but things had settled down for us. Which is why we thought it was a good time to try and start our family and have a baby.

I wish I could be happy like I was last year. We were blissfully unaware of how disappointing and tough the next step on our journey would be. Sometimes I wish we hadn’t started on this journey, if only to save us the heartache. 


In an effort to think of happier times, and happier memories, here are a few pictures from our trip to West Palm Beach last year for our anniversary. We stayed at Eau Palm Beach Resort & Spa, and it was fabulous. I would definitely go back again. The animal photos are from our visit to McCarthy’s Wildlife Sanctuary, which was amazing. If you love large cats and animals and want to hear interesting stories about rescuing and habilitating them, and donate to a good cause, you should certainly visit if you’re in the area! Definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

The view from our room out to the adjoining terrace and ocean.
The sun rising over the Atlantic.
The entrance to our room from the pool / terrace areas.
Golf time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Six

  1. The ring is beautiful and I'm just swooning over that vacation view. My husband and I have been married 3 years and we still have not been on a honeymoon. I'm going to have to change that soon! I'm thinking about you and lifting you up in prayer.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for your words.I definitely recommend a vacation/honeymoon soon! Sometimes it feels good just to get away from it all, and spend time together focusing on just yourselves, even if only for a few days.

    Like

  3. myhopejar says:

    That ring is gorgeous! Good for you for treating yourself to it. Happy Anniversary to you and your husband. Your Florida getaway pics are gorgeous!

    Like

  4. Mel says:

    That ring is absolutely gorgeous. I'm so happy that you have such a beautiful way of remembering baby #2. My second baby was due in March of last year and he/she didn't make it. I found a beautiful March birthstone in an angel setting off of Amazon that I purchased to remember my little one, and it has become one of my prized possessions. Still thinking of you often and will be praying for you. XO –

    Mel @ thereisahigherhope.blogspot.com

    Like

  5. Thank you so much! Yes our vacation last year was one of the best we've ever had. I'll really wish I was there once the cold New England winter sets in.

    Like

  6. Thank you for your kind thoughts and prayers. It truly means a lot to me. How fitting that you found the stone in an angel setting. I love aquamarine and now it is a reminder of the connection I had with my lost baby.

    Like

  7. Pingback: February Favorites III | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

  8. Pingback: All These Things I Carry Now, In This Bittersweet, In This Bittersweet Now | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

