11w

Eleven weeks today, and all seems to be going well. I have an appointment with Maternal Fetal Medicine/Genetic Counselor on Wednesday, September 3. Just a little over a week away. I’m not really nervous or anything. More curious and glad that I’ll have another ultrasound and know if everything is doing okay in there. Then my next appointment with Dr. S is September 8. I was worried that we wouldn’t have enough time to get a report, or bloodwork/ultrasound analyzed in time for the appointment with Dr. S (it’s five days between, but only three business days) but the scheduling assistant assured me that it was plenty of time.

My symptoms haven’t changed much – I still feel nauseous at times but no vomiting. I have some food aversions, but overall the stomach issues don’t feel as bad as they were with my first pregnancy. This morning, however, I woke up and my right breast was soooo sore and tender. I felt like someone punched it repeatedly throughout the night. Only the right, not the left. That was a new one this morning. And I’m still tired all the time – I am in bed so much earlier now than when I am not pregnant. I am naturally a night owl, and my husband is not, so this is putting me more on his bed time schedule.

I am having difficulties with food, only because I am nervous about everything I eat or want to eat. I am one who loves deli sandwiches, and to not have those is really taking a huge chunk out  of my meals – I typically had them two or three times a week for lunch, especially during the work week. I did have a Subway sandwich, toasted of course, but then read somewhere that even going there and toasting it is not enough because their toaster doesn’t get the meat hot enough. So I haven’t done that since. I had a panini from Panera, and now I’m paranoid about that too. I am a picky person to begin with, and then take away one of my main meal sources and give me a sensitive palette with the pregnancy and meal time can get a little stressful.

What have I been up to? Working, sleeping, resting! I started walking during my lunch breaks at work, been doing that two or three times a week. I do at least two miles each walk – last week N and I did 3.5 miles one day. So I feel good getting up, walking and feeling like I’m moving. I’d like to get up to 4-5 times a week, and I think when fall comes around and the weather cools off that will be perfect timing.

Other than that not much new. I haven’t let anyone else know about this pregnancy. I don’t feel safe yet. I feel like I just need some sort of reassurance. I want to tell people, and I want to be excited and I want to be hopeful. But I still have the “I’ll believe it when I see it” feeling going on. I hope this doesn’t turn into a self fulfilling prophecy. I read articles on the power of positive thinking, and how if you think something you can make it true, but I don’t know how or if that even works with pregnancy. I can’t change the egg and I can’t change the sperm, so I kind of feel like “What’s done is done” and it doesn’t matter what I think about it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 11w

  1. myhopejar says:

    Yay for 11 weeks! Hang in there hon. You're absolutely right, there's nothing you have or can do to change anything, but so far everything is good! I don't blame you for being still being nervous and worried. All you can do is continue to take it one day at a time and one milestone at a time. Hopefully once you get past the anatomy scan, you'll start to feel a bit more relaxed. Hugs hon <3

    P.s., I really miss sandwiches too!

    Like

  2. Thanks for your words of support!! I am also glad to hear I am not the only one missing sandwiches! I feel bad even craving them and being upset that I can't have them given everything that's happened and how thankful I am to be pregnant. But sometimes I just want a turkey sub! LOL!

    Like

Let me know what you think...

