Hole hearted

My doctor’s office called today with some of the results from my bloodwork last week. Everything looked good, except my TSH was 2.75. They said 2.75 is perfectly normal for someone who isn’t pregnant, but seeing as I am pregnant, they prefer it to be under 2.5. When I was pregnant last year, my TSH was 2.9 the first time it was tested, but Dr. S retested a few weeks after and by then it had dropped to an acceptable level so nothing was prescribed. When I asked why they are prescribing this time, the nurse said that Dr. S is on vacation, and the medication was the recommendation of Dr. D who is covering for her.

I was assured this is perfectly safe, and I believe it and I googled it and the consensus is that it’s safe for pregnant women. I just hate taking any medications at all! I get nervous taking antibiotics (for instance, for UTI or several years ago I got pneumonia). I just hate introducing something to my body that isn’t a natural part of it. BUT I didn’t have problems taking birth control for 9 years, so go figure. Anyway I am starting it tomorrow morning, as I was told to have an empty stomach and not to take it when I take my vitamin.

Also, why is Dr. D so quick to prescribe without retesting and Dr. S didn’t? I realize they are two different doctors, but they work together and you’d think they would be similar in approach. Or maybe it is just different this time because it is my 2nd recognized pregnancy. Who knows.

I still want to do a vacation post. It may have to wait for the weekend but I definitely want to get around to it! Stupid work and life getting in the way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hole hearted

  1. For what it is worth, I have hypothyroidism and have been on Synthroid for the last 2 years and it is totally safe for pregnancy. I'm like you in that I'd rather not take any medication, but I'm told that an abnormal TSH level is not great in pregnancy so probably better to keep it regulated – my OB actually likes mine to stay under 2. Anyway, try not to worry too much about it.

    Like

  2. Thank you for that. I did start the medication this morning and everything has been fine. If this is going to help, then I'll take it! I hadn't had any symptoms or discomfort that I wouldn't attribute to normal pregnancy symptoms so I don't know how to tell if it is working other than just having it retested after a few weeks. Hope you are doing well and feeling good 🙂

    Like

  3. myhopejar says:

    I completely understand not wanting to take anything, but try not to worry too much about it. There are lots of ladies on here with higher TSH levels and they're taking the meds and their babies are just fine. I think with TSH and pregnancy, it's far better to take the meds and keep it regulated then not. Hang in there. Only one more week until your next scan, right? Continuing to send you and your little one lots of prayers!

    Like

  4. Thank you for your prayers and reassurances. I've been taking the meds and haven't had any problems so I guess, it's one of those things – it is what it is. Our next scan is on the 14th, so a little less than two weeks. I'm very anxious to go of course and see our little nugget and see if (hopefully) all the fluid is absorbed!

    Like

  5. myhopejar says:

    I'll be thinking about you on that day for sure and continuing to pray that all is just perfect. Big hug!

    Like

Let me know what you think...

