At the edge of the ocean, we can start over again

One of the things we talked about in our group sessions was memorializing and grief keeping. How can we remember our children that we lost, that were never born or lived outside of us for only a few minutes?
 
Well I (we) have found several ways to memorialize my (our) baby. 
 
  • A ring – this is my “linking object.” It’s just as simple band and I chose ruby/diamond stones. I chose ruby because, although my baby did not make it to his/her due date, if the baby had survived it most likely would have been born in July (my due date was July 21). Ruby is the July birthstone. I wear it on my ring finger, sometimes with my engagement ring and wedding band and somethings on my right hand solo. 
 
 
  • This blog. This blog in itself is a way for me to remember my baby. Although my loss isn’t the only thing I write about, if it hadn’t happened I would probably not be blogging. The premise of my blog was to work through my grief and to get it all out there rather than bottling it all in.  As much as it hurts I don’t want to forget about my baby or what happened to us.


So what have I been doing these past two days? Watching a lot of Orange is the New Black (still not finished with Season 2). Yesterday The Husband and I woke up early and did groceries together in the morning then I had brunch with three of my friends. We have been friends since high school, and although we aren’t as close as we used to be, we make an effort to get together a couple times a year (although it’s only about once a year most times). It was good to see them and catch up. We had a fabulous brunch (I had two mimosas! Love them!) and got to chat about life and chat (gossip really) about people we grew up with and what they are up to now. Then I went to my mother’s house with my fur baby and hung out by her pool and she had a cookout. It was only me, my mom, her boyfriend and our dogs. The Husband was playing in a golf tournament and my brother was out and about doing his thing (whatever that may be). All in all it was a good day.

I am trying to perfect my “Beach Songs” playlist. So far a lot of Jimmy Buffett, Sublime, Justin Timberlake, The Beach Boys, Bob Marley, etc. Any good suggestions? What do you think are awesome summer songs, new or old? I need fresh ideas!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At the edge of the ocean, we can start over again

  1. myhopejar says:

    I can't think of any songs right now, but just wanted to say I love your ring! It's a beautiful memory of your baby. I know the upcoming month will be hard and just wanted to let you know I'm thinking about you and happy to hear you're enjoying your summer so far.

    Like

  2. Pingback: February Favorites III | Sweeping Up the Broken Pieces

Let me know what you think...

