Guess what?

Today, exactly eight weeks after my procedure, I finally got my period. Today was the deadline my doctor gave me – if not by today, call and make an appointment. Nothing like waiting to the last minute! I guess I really do procrastinate in all areas of my life.

I know it is weird but I was so relieved. I’ve read and heard that other people feel sad, but honestly I did not feel any sadness. I just hope I don’t have to wait two months in between every damn cycle. I don’t want to keep going through this. I was never really “regular” after going off the pill, my cycle lengths varied from 27 to 42, but hopefully they won’t be THIS long ever again.

I got a message from my friend today, the friend I’ve been reconnecting with. She asked if I wanted to do a 5k with her this weekend. I told her I would do it after she reassured me she isn’t in fighting shape either and would be slow too. This will be my third 5k, and my first in almost a year. I am only on week 7 of Couch to 5k, there are 8 weeks, but this will be good. The weather is supposed to be perfect and it’s at a fun location. So I am looking forward to it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guess what?

  1. myhopejar says:

    Oh, I'm sorry for my previous comment! I'm playing catch up and reading from earliest to latest! Well I'm happy your period arrived and I'm glad you're feeling okay. Praying this helps you heal and move forward. Hugs.

    Like

  2. Ashleigh S says:

    Thank you! Oddly enough, it does feel like it's helping. I don't feel like I'm stuck in suspense. I feel like I'm moving forward. I don't know if that makes sense or not but it's almost like being “reset” (physically at least!)

    Like

  3. I'm reading through your blog for the first time, so I still have to play some catch up, but my heart just goes out to you. I just wanted to comment on this post because it took me exactly 8 weeks to stop bleeding after my miscarriage, although it was a much earlier loss (12 weeks) and it was a 'complete' miscarriage with no D&C. I think that's probably why it took me a full 8 weeks to bleed all the way through. I started getting concerned around 6-7 weeks my doc gave me the same deadline — if it goes past 8 weeks, come see us. Not exactly the same situation as yours, but I wanted you to know that you're not alone — my body was pretty out of whack after my loss too. It took months after that for my hormones to even out, which is why I think it took us 5 full months of actively trying again to get pregnant again. I hope your body is bouncing back now. I think you said at this point you're starting to try again, so you must physically be feeling sort of back to normal again (for whatever that means, right!). I hope that's the case!

    Like

  4. Ashleigh S says:

    Thank you for commenting. It's good to know that others have had a similar length of time before starting a cycle again. I think my body is normalizing, my last cycle was 34 days, however on the cycle I am on now I didn't ovulate until CD26! So I am anticipating an approximate 40 day cycle (unless I am pregnant). My doctor told me I had to have two menses before trying again, so this is our first cycle of trying since the loss. I don't think I remember what “normal” is, lol, you hit the nail on the head!

    Like

Let me know what you think...

