Martha’s Vineyard

I have been attending a support group for women that have experienced perinatal loss. The women in the group have all experienced loss, situations similar to mine – they received a diagnosis of a fetal abnormality and chose to terminate their pregnancies. One of the things we talked about tonight was grief keeping, and memorializing our babies.

One of the ideas that was shared that I particularly liked was the Children’s Memorial at the Edgartown Lighthouse. I adore the ocean and I adore Martha’s Vineyard. Martha’s Vineyard is one of my favorite places on Earth, if not THE favorite. I have vacationed there since I was a little girl, my great aunt had a house in Oak Bluffs and I would go there with my grandmother, parents, etc. I have a lot of wonderful memories there. The house was passed on to my great grandfather but he sold it because of family in-fighting. One thing that I was especially looking forward to was taking my child to MV and showing him/her all of my favorite places and sharing my memories. Obviously, this baby did not make it there. But maybe this is a way I could still share it.

My husband and I actually visited the lighthouse two years ago, but never did I think I would be one of the parents buying a stone. I just love the island so much – the beaches, the atmosphere, the smells, the land, the feeling that I have when I am there. No fast food, no Dunkin’ Donuts. For the most part it is quaint and laid back. I feel relaxed, happy. I love Menemsha, Aquinnah (Gay Head), Edgartown. The carousel. I wanted to show it all to my baby. And I hoped that my baby would love it too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think...

